We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We cannot thank Oaklands and Lauren for making our daughter Donna and New Husband James day such a special occasion everything was absolutely amazing good food excellent wine and very attentive staff.

The church ceremony was an hour away so timimg was very important, but once again Oaklands did us proud I would reccomend this venue to anyone.

The Marquee looked wonderfull and just as wre had hoped and lighting all the candels made it a spetacular vision on entering

The resident DJ was also excellent with something for everyone also entertaining the little ones for the early part of the evening

We stayed over night in one of the Lodges which was excellent and the following mornings breakfast was lovely.

The staff had kindly put everything together which we wanted to take home and although they had 2 weddings the following day we didnt feel rushed in clearing our decorations etc up.

Once again a big thank you to Lauren and her team and the oaklands for a wonderfull day

Peter and Gina Reeve

Room Tip: The Wroxham Lodges are roomy and comfortable with a balcony and steps directly to the gardens on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff to be complimented, pleasant, willing and prompt. Bedroom spacious and bathroom clean. Food was a special Menu for a Coach Tour. Each dinner menu was presented at breakfast for choices to be made. Breakfast choice from the English cooked breakfast buffet looked tasty. My choice of a daily special was, apart from one morning, really special, e.g. pancake with maple syrup and a slice of bacon and bagel with creamed cheese and smoked salmon, another morning. Much appreciated considering the reasonable cost of this Hotel stay. Only adverse comments I could make would be, T.V. sound a little too low and although I slept very well the mattress hadn't a lot of life left in it. I would go back!

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems discuss with hotel when booking. Some of my friends were booked into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beezwacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Would like to stay that our stay at this hotel was very good,my son had his wedding reception here and everything was excellent.It was a package deal and it was a real bargain and we could not have asked for anything better.Had a room overnight and room was very clean.Would definateley recommend this hotel for wedding package and also to stay if you are visiting the area.We live in Norwich so wouldnt normally stay this close to home but would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed just one night for business. Room was of a decent size, however the TV was tiny in comparison and when I switched it on, only one channel was working. The bed had seen better days with a lumpy mattress.

Bathroom was fine, although there was no hot water in the morning!

Always the small detail that makes such a large impression.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireMsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed for 1 night on a KGB deal which included a meal and half bottle of wine. Sat nav let us to a totally different place miles away which was very annoying, we had to phone for directions which was very confusing but got there eventually. The room was fine, large comfortable bed but very small T.V The meal was tasty but we had to wait ages for service and for the meal to arrive. The dining room was very busy with customers who had turned up en masse to eat the carvery meals which were incredibly cheap.They finished serving the carvery at 7 , but it all seemed to have a knock on effect for the diners that arrived later. The 2 young waitresses were rushed off their feet!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had a very lovely room, impeccably clean and well presented. The evening meal was delicious although the £15 advance meal deal didn't really have any benefit as it just contributed towards the final bill, so I ended up paying the difference the same day that I paid the £15 - it would have been a lot less fuss just to have paid for the meal! The only real gripe I have is that some of the staff were a bit too preoccupied with their own conversations, and I was sometimes made to feel like I was interrupting their day - some customer service training required I think, particularly for the younger members of staff.
But overall a nice stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex-couple-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visited The Oaklands after purchasing a deal through Groupon. We stayed in a lodge a short distance from the main building and were very happy with the accommodation. Unfortunately the same couldn't be said for the food.

We'd read some reviews of the food before travelling and would have eaten elsewhere had meals not been included as part of our package. Its fair to say our expectations were fairly low - and we weren't disappointed. The tiger prawn starter was bland and flavourless, and served on a bed of burnt stir-fried veg which was swimming in oil. The fish cakes weren't much better, and resembled a grey, mushy paste coated in breadcrumbs and accompanied by a processed tomato sauce. For mains, the lamb casserole, priced at a ridiculously expensive £15, looked like dog food and was arrived in a thick, cloying sauce, (although the veg it came with were fine). The tuna steak was over-cooked, but edible.

But the best was still to come. We ordered sticky toffee pudding, which is grandly described by The Oaklands as their "world famous dessert". What arrived was a dry sponge accompanied by two dollops of ice cream, but sadly lacking any type of sauce. At The Oaklands, it would seem the "sticky" and "toffee" elements of this traditional British favourite just aren't that important.

We really enjoy eating out and have been lucky enough to dine in some really excellent places, many of which have been much more fairly priced than The Oaklands. Unfortunately here, the prices listed in the menu are absolutely no reflection on the quality of the dishes you'll receive.

Suffice to say, we decided to give breakfast a miss and picked up a snack from a nearby shop instead.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LongWayFrom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
471 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £51 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing