We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was a good base for exploring the local area. We enjoyed the breakfast and used the bar the service was okay, relaxed atmosphere. Lovely gardens and veranda. However, on our arrival there was a function that took over most of the hotel so retreated to our room. The room was very warm but clean with toiletries provided(no hairdryer, but reception provided one when requested.) The stair carpet looked worn in places. The lodges looked lovely overlooking the outdoor swimming pool that was not in use during my stay. There was some noise in our roon due to the driveway of the hotel .

Room Tip: Our room was over the kitchen near the entrance to the carpark so if the window was open noise could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cord48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went for a nice roast on Sunday.absolutely lovely .and service. Worth the money for 3 course.Lovely clean place and good prices and locations.would return at some point .as meal was lovely.and on buds route if you don't have car .not far from train station

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked my wedding here which was the best package they had, table place settings wrong, canapés weren't handed out but staff were eating them behind the bar, not enough welcome drinks to go around, drinks during wedding breakfast were slow, food took so long to come out that we had to miss the cheese and biscuits until the evening. Also my guests had to walk past the middle room were locals were eating to get to our room so no privacy for them or us. The log cabin we had had faulty shower which didn't drain and milk for the coffee was off. Have written twice to complain never had a response or any compensation!! Had our one year anniversary meal here which was part of cost and there was a wedding party going through the middle room agin that we were in so we had Jo privacy. Though my husband and I had a lovely day as we got married it wasn't what we had paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shabsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Oaklands advertises wedding packages quite widely, and what it does , it does well. My brother recently held his wedding here, and we were pleasantly surprised. The service itself was very nice, well thought out words and professional without being starchy. The food for the reception was extremely good, no faults at all and the profiteroles were some of the best we have ever had. Our room was on the second floor, nicely decorated and very clean, what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked 4 single rooms for myself and friends on a golfing holiday in Norfolk. It is an old fashioned hotel, quite clean with good food. 3 floors with no lift, it is not difficult to climb. We took an all inclusive package including dinner which was great value for money. It is well used by commercial clients which is a good recommendation. I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredBloggsWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, at a decent price. The room was spacious and quiet. Breakfast was decent and the meals they provide for room service were really nice (and huge portions). The only downside is that it is not walking distance from the city centre, but in any case there are many local buses for the centre and the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anaxagoras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed at oaklands with work great hotel for the price. Just over road from river and town centre is walkable but taxi a few pounds riversidecomplex and Carrow.road first stop. Hotel is clean modern large rooms large bathroom with all modcons..staff are young but very good large car.park outdoor swimming pool if you want it and large beautfull grounds.only complaint breakfast is good plenty of it but its buffet style and things tend to be luke warm .try the carvery less than a fiver great value if im on that side of city will def use again

Room Tip: back of hotel over looking grounds gret gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalosLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
475 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing