We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place but makes you do the running round!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Me and my husband went to the oaklands for our 1st yr wedding anniversary 1st may 09. i must add this was our third visit to the hotel so we know that it is nice but still need's work and staff training is a must. (i think!)

i will say that Norwich is a lovely place and people seem very nice and friendly, the town is full of lots of shops and markets and 2 big shopping center's with cinema and all the shop's you can manage and a pleasant food court. ( food ok but nice view and not to crowded) there is big retail park with cinema and football ground just across the way all on the waterfront.

we always stay in the lodges when we visit as i feel its more of a treat and your own space. the lodges are all the same inside, wooden under heated floors, flat screen tv + dvd, small kitcken-ette with toaster and kettle ( no cutlery of any kind) bedroom nice with tv and wardobes and bathroom shower, wc, shower (very powerful) mini bar and bathrobe are supposed to be there but missing in action! so overall very good standard of room and clean. you also have a room service option which was one of the reasons i like the the oaklands hotel as this was hard to find anywhere else.
always check the sheets have been changed as our first trip consisted of chasing staff to change our sheets that had clearly been slept in and it was very late by the time we went to bed so it was annoying to say the least at 1am waiting for someone to come. they corrected this problem and gave us wine as a sorry which was nice but i feel its not improved a lot since then as its the little thing YOU have to do when it should have been done! so overall go for the food and maybe take a chance you'll get someone nice to help you.

so as you would image this being our third trip we know the drill and were hoping for a nice romantic getaway without our kids. (dont expect any frills)

the first two years we came we booked the sensual package or romance packages and this was included in the price with your deal and you got wine, chocolate and candles the first year and last year you got wine, a gift of aromatherapy candles and incense but no matches! this year i tried to book it and although its on the site its not included anymore (so take the deals off the site then!) so i rang to ask why i couldn't book it to be told im not sure i think you have to add it on now as an extra at the end. so i looked for this and they now have a long list of extra's you can pay for. the romance pk is £35 for wine, petals and 3 candles and a box of lindt chocolates. the choc's were nice.

the other thing i will add about booking online as you get the discount and they cant for what ever reason do this over the phone. if you can open to tabs and do it on both (dont complete the whole process but just before) and double check as they use a provider to do this and i had two pages open and got two different prices but when i rang and asked about this she just said one price and i felt abit annoyed that the end price was always the same when you got to pay but kicked out 2 different ones online so just keep an eye for that. also sometimes you'll try and book the lodge's and it says nothing's free and then you try again and there free so just keep trying as this is what it said a few time's when i tried booking.

the bad side of the hotel is staff i think quite a few are not very welcoming and helpful although you may get someone who will try, but on the whole poor is the standard generally (that we have experienced!). we used to be greeted and then shown to your room which i feel is a nice touch as it shows they are professional and care what they are doing but none of that any more just "out there to the left" now which sets the tone! we got in our room quite easily as the key cards do play up at times and make it hard work to get inside your foyer door. so were in and my husband has phoned a head and ordered flowers for me and told them its our 1st wedding anniversary and i knew nothing of this and so he was a little disappointed when he entered to find a bunch of CLOSED lilles and no more effort than that really. the last time we came we got engaged here and it was pretty much the same treatment then! we got in unpacked and had just traveled in the heat for 3hrs and so wanted to chill get a drink out the mini bar and relax, nothing in the mini bar(although it was on just empty!) and no room menu's so my hubby has to go down and ask and for them and was given a dinner menu and then had to go back, anyway i wont bore you with all the details but you go and ask for something and someone says i get one to your room in a minute and no one comes to your room so you ring and no one answers the phone so again you have to go down and ask again and on and on it goes, the dvd broke and so we had to wait for some one to fix it and they did but its all waiting and getting annoyed. they did have a wedding on and they were busy according to the staff but dont have other PAYING guests if they dont have the staff to accommodate what they offer in the brochure!
so no mini bar, no menu's which they said they dont do anymore but they still do room service so what the?? how do you choose without a menu? no robes anymore?
i think if they added more staff and had separate staff for the 12 lodges then they would have sufficient staff for all. some more training for the staff and front of house seems to be in there own world talking among them selfs and then " oh can i help help you?" like what else would i be here for? attentive staff im sure it wont take much to deliver a menu or check the rooms are set up right. in my opinion!
they had two weddings while we were there and the noise was not an issue for us, only issue with this was in the morning after the wedding we order breakfast to be delivered( if you do this circle everything and put x's 2 and you'll be glad you did!) we ordered it for 9am and 9.20 came and went and then 9.40 and so i rang and no answer and then gave it 10 more minutes and rang back and got through and was told its been reall busy as all the wedding party turned up for breakfast at the same time and so well get yours done now. there was no sorry just ok im on it! 10.30 comes and please bear in mind i have worked in public service so i do know the drill well!! we ordered toast and cereals and juice and coffee hardly difficult stuff. the waitress brought our tray and apologized for the delay but you could tell looking at the tray there had be no extra care taken to say sorry for the delay, just slightly toasted bread (white virtually) not in the nice basket like it should just quickly chucked on a plate with 1 small pot of milk for 2 bowls of cereals and 2 coffee's. so again you feel annoyed with the start of the day much like the end of the last one.


GOOD THINGS

FOOD in the hotel is always top notch and maybe this is there forte and thats why everything else slips beside the waist ! from sandwich's and crisps and lasagne to duck and full roast dinners all top class cooking and cant fault anything with the food at all 10/10 we only had room service this time but still top class even for that.

i dont think we'll be going back there again now as it's just the same every time you go and you think ok, maybe today was a bad day and we'll see next time but it's not any different just the same again but different things.


so go at your own risk and make your own mind up and hopefully you'll get staff on a good day, and dont expect any special treatment for your anniversary or birthday as your just another customer no more no less!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

We booked this trip as we'd heard alot of good things about Norwich and it was also my birthday. Really enjoyed the city, loads of shops to choose from and a massive market, we visited the cathedral and the castle which were both extremely impressive. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the centre, about 3 / 4 pubs and restuarants across and up the road from the hotel so a variety to choose from if you want to go out for an evening and leave the car behind. Car park at hotel very large with lots of spaces to choose from. We went to Great Yarmouth a couple of times, really enjoyed it and only half hour drive away, good fun for the arcades and Pirate Crazy Golf which was a fun way to finish our long weekend.
We stayed in one of the lodges, I must say a little more than we would want to pay but we were still happy with what we got, only downside is when we arrived they had the sofa bed set up and a cot in the bedroom !!! This meant that once we'd arrived late (10.30pm) we had to first of all spend 20 minutes putting these away, this was just a little bit of hastle that could have easily been avoided. Apart from that we loved the lodge, large living area with comfy sofa and massive flat screen tv, has an xbox to entertain kids, seperate kitchen area, lovely balcony, bedroom was nice style and bathroom was also lovely with a two person shower and jaccuzzi bath. Not only was the lodge lovely and provided us with a fantastic romantic get away, my partner ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room on my birthday, he assumed payment would be on departure but when we paid for the room they said it was complimentary which I thought was a lovely touch !
Regarding breakfast I personally thought this was great, we were shown to our table where we were asked if we wanted a hot drink and some toast, while this was being done you could help yourself to all the cereals, mixed fruit, yoghurts and juices and also the large array of hot english breakfast, we both thought this was great, you could help yourself to what you wanted and have as little or much as you wanted.
All in all a fabulous stay !! and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aims24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We stayed at the Oaklands several times, especially on their special weekends, the latest "sensual delight" was just perfect, it was Valentines weekend, always in the lodges, and we have never been dis-appointed, from the lodge to the food to the very helpful and happy staff, yes we have had weddings on but as previous reviews state the noise ends at midnight, which is very good for any wedding. The hotel is in a very nice setting with easy access to Norwich, the coast, If you get a chance go there and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandybeds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Stayed at this hotel as part of a package offered on our local radio station therefore the room included an evening meal set at a very competative price. The hotel is situated a couple of miles from the city centre and the main pub, club and restaurant area therefore just a short taxi ride.
On arrival the reception is inviting with very polite and welcoming staff. Further to this we found all the staff in the restaurant and bar very polite and as a result made us feel comfortable.
The room was of an average size as was the bathroom and all was very clean and well presented. The hotel was generally well maintained and gave an overall impression that it was being well run and not being run on a shoestring.
As part of our package we had an evening carvery. This consisted of the usual self service carvery plus a sweet. On collecting out meal the choice of meat was somewhat meager and the vegetables gave the appearence of being left over from the lunch time session. Having said that the meat that we did have was very good as was the sweet.
We had to pay extra for a full English breakfast which was of a higher standard than the carvery.
Overall we found this hotel to be of a good standard and having paid much the same we would have for a Travel Lodge or simlar, good value for money with rather more attention from the staff to make you feel special

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petersuffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Having been all over the UK on business from Dubai I stayed at the the Oaklands whilst seeing a local company (MSI). The hotel is quirky in places but really friendly and makes a welcome break from chain hotels. I stayed in the main hotel for two nights which is fine and got a a great price then stayed in the lodges for another two nights which have to be some of the best rooms in town. It's nice to find an indepedent hotel with great staff and a friendly faces. The food is good but is very popular with locals for their carvery and can get a little busy. If you do stay try a lodge but if budget dicates then the main hotel is fine although a little quirky in places. There is a pool which is outside so not ideal in the winter! There is a great walk around the noroflk broads just a minute walk from the hotel which was nice for a relaxing stroll. All in all a nice play to stay and someone where you are made to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank biffadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed at the Oaklands Hotel, Norwich in Sept 2008 for our 11th weddind anniversary.
We had a fantastic time with great enjoyable food, friendly helpful staff. The room and facilities were perfect, clean, fresh and comfortable. The booking process was completed via the hotel website which was straight forward and easy. I have just booked another stay there for valentines day. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeno13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

i stayed at this hotel at the end of January for two nights,i stayed in a single bedroom for the first night and then shared a twin room with my sister on the 2nd night.Reception were very efficient and helpful upon my arrival,i found the single bedroom quite small and very hot,managed to work out the heating in the room to cool it down a bit.Ensuite only had a shower,no room for bath,so i was a bit disappointed with that,when i asked reception if they had any other rooms available with a bath,they did try to get me one,but were fully booked that night,so apologised and said they couldnt help me.The room was comfortable,had a small flatscreen television,coffee making facilities(unfortunatlely coffee and tea not so good),i found twin room the following night so much better,more modern and larger,with bath and shower.Breakfast was lovely,very smart,comfortable area to sit and eat,wonderful choice of different breakfast,cooked,cereal,fruit and toast etc,staff very busy,but very helpful.Overall,a friendly,nice hotel to stay in,only 10 mins from the town centre and railway station and surrounded by plenty of local pubs and restaurants,if you fancy leaving the hotel in the eveing.We had a wonderful view of the Norfolk Broads from our window,so quite pretty and lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
475 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £43 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing