We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Noisy disco and arrogant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I am sure that as a wedding venue, the Oaklands is a fantastic place. However be warned that as a quiet place to stay forget it ! The management were arrogant and I certainly wouldn't recommend anyone stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRCatFSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

The hotel is lucky to have such pleasant helpful staff, in my opinion they are rushed off their feet due to a lack of numbers. This was reflected in the poor service received at breakfast. When we arrived we had to wait for a table to be set, no tea, coffee or toast was offered , the buffet was in desperate need of replenishment, and there were no glasses available for fruit juice. A bit of a shambles really.
Our room was comfortable enough but with wallpaper coming away from the walls in two places, tired looking furniture and carpet, it was definitely not worth £105.00 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linslader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Review Customer feedback for Oaklands Hotel, Norwich
Damn good value for money - A view, I'm sure held by many that we observed who had clearly voted with their feet (and appetites) at the dining table. The weekend package with breakfast takes some beating!
All staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. No one had a problem at going an enthusiasm fuelled mile whenever required.
A little gem sure to bring some sparkle to your weekend wallet!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwinetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

First night in the restaurant my soup starter took 25 minutes to get to me, it didn't have the croutons but i was starving so didn't say anything. Next night my Paté starter didn't arrive within 20 minutes so I complained they made a poor excuse and I got the Paté after 30 minutes.Just to let you know the soup is the same batch all week and the meat on the carvery could be 3 days old. Steak and chips was very average and the chips were awful. I got to breakfast next day at 7.30 had some cereal then went for the cooked b/fast, there was no bacon no sausage no eggs. I waited and they brought out some sausage, minutes later bacon, then minutes later was told the chef had over cooked the eggs, it was all cold anyway.

The lodges seem nice but the beds are awful, cheapest mattress's money could buy, and also the bedding, the cheap duvet made me feel very uncomfortable had to take it out of the cover and use the blanket.
On checkout there was no one there and a member of staff walked past me not saying anything she went through the back, I left my room key and left, management in this place is non existent, I will never even think about using this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeh1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel in March. Overall, I was a bit disappointed. The room was too small and the bed was not very comfortable. I had a diner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was not that tasty and I was not happy with my breakfast either, because it was a buffet and everything was too cold and when they run out of some dishes they were not in a hurry to replenish.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandrivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We were pleasantly surprised as previous reviews were not complimentary. The staff were helpful and courteous. The food in the carvery was of a very good standard and excellent value for money. There was a good selection of food at breakfast - plenty to fill you up for the day! The room was comfortable - everything we needed, although not massive in size.

We would go back to the hotel because we were made to feel welcome, rather than just another guest.

Not suitable for people with mobility problems, as there was no lift.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Friendly staff. Nice decor. Clean.
Things to improve would be curtains that actually block the sunlight.
Secure parking area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notfromhereNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#26 of 50 in Norwich
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#28 of 50 in Norwich
161 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#25 of 50 in Norwich
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £43 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing