We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL ROUND EXCELLENY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ALL ROUND EXCELLENY”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hard to find, hotel is actually in Bourne St Andrew, on the outskirts Norwich but none of the hotel literature or travel sites state this. Once there everything is superb - service, reception, room & food. Very close to Norwich city centre. Hotel is clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Room excellent - king size bed, bathroom clean, modern and good size. Perhaps TV reception could be improved - a minor detail. Breakfast buffet style - superb and plentiful (real sausages). No hesitation in going again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    189
    149
    105
    83
See reviews for
150
268
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had our wedding at the Oakland Hotel. Although a few teething problems that were resolved by the hotel, the big issue was the recommended entertainment. We requested a disco and were recommended Elite Entertainments, so we booked them. Unfortunately they were far from professional by starting late, after the deejay had been rude to not only hotel staff but to the bride and groom and guests. We all tried to make the best of a bad situation, even though they did not play the music that was requested. The deejay seamed to be in a musical timewarp playing music from the 70's and 80s. We asked for an apology, after pointing out they were in breach of contract, but instead we are threatened with legal action because we with held part of the payment. It would of been nice to receive some customer care, which the hotel was able to do, but the recommended entertainment obviously had not been on that training course. Good venue, just do not book their recommended entertainment, unless you are happy to pay to be insulted and threatened, in which case they are the ones for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST HELENS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Myself and my wife have just returned from a long weekend break in norwich,we had the good fortune to stay at THE OAKLANDS HOTEL situated in thorpe st andrew,in norwich,the hotel is close to the broads and also about 15 mins from norwich town centre,I personally spoke to the hotel manager during our stay to compliment him and his staff on the excellent service we were receiving,hence if you are travelling to the norwich area,this is a great place to stay,superb rooms,excellent food,nice quiet area with two or three riverside pubs in close proximity,this hotel is a credit to it`s manager and all the staff who work there.TRY IT.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHelensBusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My room was good & had a high spec bathroom. Food was excellent & service generally good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone & at £40 per night.... it was a bargain!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Lodge room was great, loads of room and space to work!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clive1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire,UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Easy to locate and and park, check in was quick and room had a nice 4 poster bed, very clean, comfortable and ideal if on buisness, WIFI is free and the bar is downstairs and good for a cheeky drink.
Location of hotel is good for Norwich and a 20 min walk and you are at Norch football club, 5 more min and in centre of norwich.

Breakfast and carvery were very good, good hot food and plenty of it.

I had a nice stay and would stay there again . :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I enjoyed my stay the staff were all friendly & helpfull & made it an ideal base to work from

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmccreery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
662 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Address: Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing