We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mattress needs renewing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, miles walk from the rail station and the city centre.
In the summer, a very nice location, adjacent to the river, but not at this time of the year.
I was in room 31, which was located at the rear of the hotel.
It was minus 6 outside, and the bedroom window would not close, so very cold throughout the night.
The mattress was totally worn out, very tired and al springs popping. A very uncomfortable nights stay.
The TV was a tiny 14inch with only 5 channels, what hotel in this day and age has a 14inch tv with only 5 channels?
Overall very poor value for money.
Would i stay again?
NO

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARKSANDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

Stayed for 7 nights for my work, clean and tidy hotel, good value, although a large car park several times I had to park in the drive rather then car park. Hotel does very cheap meals so popular for non residents. Dont stay at a weekend if there is a function, for 2 nights running had music until 12, although the staff do let you know.
Rooms were reasonable, although TVs are very small.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdzzzPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hard to find, hotel is actually in Bourne St Andrew, on the outskirts Norwich but none of the hotel literature or travel sites state this. Once there everything is superb - service, reception, room & food. Very close to Norwich city centre. Hotel is clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Room excellent - king size bed, bathroom clean, modern and good size. Perhaps TV reception could be improved - a minor detail. Breakfast buffet style - superb and plentiful (real sausages). No hesitation in going again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had our wedding at the Oakland Hotel. Although a few teething problems that were resolved by the hotel, the big issue was the recommended entertainment. We requested a disco and were recommended Elite Entertainments, so we booked them. Unfortunately they were far from professional by starting late, after the deejay had been rude to not only hotel staff but to the bride and groom and guests. We all tried to make the best of a bad situation, even though they did not play the music that was requested. The deejay seamed to be in a musical timewarp playing music from the 70's and 80s. We asked for an apology, after pointing out they were in breach of contract, but instead we are threatened with legal action because we with held part of the payment. It would of been nice to receive some customer care, which the hotel was able to do, but the recommended entertainment obviously had not been on that training course. Good venue, just do not book their recommended entertainment, unless you are happy to pay to be insulted and threatened, in which case they are the ones for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Myself and my wife have just returned from a long weekend break in norwich,we had the good fortune to stay at THE OAKLANDS HOTEL situated in thorpe st andrew,in norwich,the hotel is close to the broads and also about 15 mins from norwich town centre,I personally spoke to the hotel manager during our stay to compliment him and his staff on the excellent service we were receiving,hence if you are travelling to the norwich area,this is a great place to stay,superb rooms,excellent food,nice quiet area with two or three riverside pubs in close proximity,this hotel is a credit to it`s manager and all the staff who work there.TRY IT.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StHelensBusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My room was good & had a high spec bathroom. Food was excellent & service generally good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone & at £40 per night.... it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobRist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Lodge room was great, loads of room and space to work!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank Clive1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.7 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Address: Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £49 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing