We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”

The Norfolk Lurcher
Ranked #91 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

While away in Norfolk over the bank holiday weekend we looked for a place to eat on the Sunday evening. we were loking for a village pub. Went past two (closed) one (disused) and a Travel Lodge pub (did not want) found this place by accident. Great food, real ale, company, and the resident dog can also do tricks. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank Twizzle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    40
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pub Grub par excellence”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Where did the last reviewers come from --- with roast duck, surf & turf, lobster thermidor, baked crab and many more dishes cooked to order I would like to go to their local. Is this for real
or perhaps they were just being rude !!!!!!!!????? My wifes pigeon and my piri piri prawns with stroganoff to follow were cooked to perfection and the homemade desserts were to die for--
suppose if you stick to sausage and mash and fresh cod and chips only you could say it was 'good pub grub', but at least if you say it is good pub grub it should have a higher marking as it is a pub ! with real ale under CAMERA marking . Well done for the Ugly Bug which is fighting the trend of closing down country pubs - still soon there will be none left to crucify --good old Trip Advisor (one out five for accuracy)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank drummond12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pub grub with rude service”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Food was standard pub grub, although sausage bar was a good idea. But the service was rude and rushed. We won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenkinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and I had an evening meal here just after Christmas. It's got fairly standard pub decor - collections of beer mats hanging form the ceiling, slightly dim lighting. We had a pleasant all-round experience. I certainly wouldn't endorse those who've recently complained about the service, which was invariably polite and attentive. However, nor would I endorse the rave review about the food which in my view was sound pub food. I had fillet of hake, which was slightly overcooked, though quite fresh, with fresh (and it was) ratatouille, and my wife had fish and chips. Prices are reasonable. There is some real ale, and wine by the glass, though the white Chilean sauvignon I had was neither chilled nor very good. So - it's a reliaible place for pub food, but has no pretensions to greatness.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malpasmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Wonderful food, good wine. Duck with blackcurrant sauce is delicious.Amazing choice of food. The restaurant unfortunately closes at 2.30pm,last orders for food is 1.45 so not ideal for long leisurely lunch, otherwise perfect

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank boyes-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Norfolk Lurcher also viewed

 

Been to The Norfolk Lurcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing