We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
great yarmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 11 on a recommendation from a friend to celebrate my 50th birthday amd was not to be dissapointed. From the moment we walked in to our reserved table in the bar for drinks whilst waiting for everyone to arrive, the friendly welcome and general banter from the staff, the meal certainly didnt dissapoint wirh a great selection and all arriving on nice hot plates. Thanks to all the staff for making this a great birrhday meal to remember and we will be coming back to see you again.

Helpful?
5 Thank caisterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    39
    13
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hostess with the least!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having sought a table for lunch for 5 persons at 1300 we were told we could have one at 1245. We arrived on time and were surprised to find that the restaurant was empty with one other party of 4 arriving later. Alison, the co-owner took our food orders in a most ungracious manner eliciting a loud sarcastic remark from her husband, John, in the bar area, when we asked for more time to make up our minds. Alison was unhelpful and totally without charm giving the impression that she didn't want our business. The food was fine but Alison made no attempt to see whether we were satisfied with our meal. There were only two tables occupied in the restaurant so there was no excuse for her attitude.
This was not our first visit to The Ugly Bug Inn, but we will think hard before returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jasiknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ugly Bug Inn Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and the staff are really friendly - a cut above the rest! I would recommend the Ugly Bug restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Character and Quality”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, lovely traditional pub not ruined by being trendied-up. The food was quite simply excellent, I had the baked crab, and the menu was extensive and interesting. The place is laid out well so you can find a quiet corner or enjoy being with a group. Good soft level of lighting makes for an intimate feel, and good to see such a charming and well behaved dog there too. Unfortunately it was raining on the day of our visit but the grounds look as if they would be delightful on a sunny day. Service was first rate. Toilets very clean and well presented. Very enjoyable, please don't change!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Therese953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Ok, should have stayed at the hotel. ..”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I stay in the area on a regular basis, rather than stay at the hotel I decided to visit the ugly bug.

Straight of im not happy with a dog being in the restaurant. Whilst it didn't come near me when I was eating, but in sure environmental health may have something to say.

The food was ok, cooked well and fresh. The staff were fine, friendly. At the end of the meal the card machine wouldn't work and I was asked to pay cash, however this was a business meal whilst away and getting the cash back is a night mare. In the end I had to leave my details and let the owner put it through manually.

The owner was the biggest disappointment, he was being loud and very vocal about supermarkets and how they are ruining the country. I know everyone is entitled to their opinion, but sometimes keeping it to yourself is better, especially being that my livelihood any a great many people I deal with daily are dependent on them. He was also not happy when I insisted on paying by card, blaming the modern world and the Internet, the banks and everyone but himself.
I won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing