We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed by one young man.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant

Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed by one young man.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked in advance for a meal only. On arrival we were 'welcomed' by a young man who did not respond to our greeting - bit surly I thought - must have had a bad day. However, the rest of the staff were welcoming and attentive.

We were shown to a waiting area, where we ordered our meal. A little later the same young man addressed our group by surname only without a smile and beckoned us to follow him to our reserved table.

Our food arrived well presented, but the side vegetables were overcooked. Although the Ugly Bug Fish Pie looked welcoming, there was a surplus of liquid under the mash, which led to the comment of one of our group to comment "Going fishing for your fish?"

When we came to pay for our meal, the bill was presented in a book-shaped box. We popped in our VISA card and waited. The surly young man re-appeared and boomed " Is there a card in the box?" We replied in the affirmative and he returned with a portable card reader and pointed out the button to press for 'The Gratuity'. We thought 12% was okay and I entered the amount. I wasn't sure what button to press next so called him over and he curtly asked me "Do you want to pay the Gratuity or not?" I said I did and the green button was pressed. I nervously popped in my PIN expecting the worst. Whoopee - payment accepted!

Although it was great to have a meal in pleasant surroundings, that one member of staff left us with the feeling of 'Let's go home now' rather than ' It's still early, let's stay and have a coffee/beer'.

Helpful?
Thank Kipper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    36
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Chose this place mainly because it's halfway between our house and our friends. Very glad we did. We'll go there again sometime soon.
Service was good and friendly, welcome excellent, food likewise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Le_petit_herisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a lovely meal great starters , 2 seafood salads, 2 different venison dishes and pasta for our 2 year old and desserts for those who could manage to eat them. Very attentive to our toddler we did go at 6.30! Loved the décor atmosphere and helpful staff also have vegetarian menu

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food with good service and well priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the 3rd time we've eaten at the Ugly Bug, Colton, Norwich and can only recommend it! The Owner personally welcomed us on each occasion and made us feel very welcome. On each occasion we've chosen our food from the menu or the extensive specials board whilst enjoying a drink either in the bar area or on the enclosed patio area. Soon after making our choices we are shown to our table in the restaurant.

The food in our opinion is very good, tasty, hot and plenty of it with a wide range of choice to suit most we would think. Service was also very good, not rushed but attentive.

The hard work and dedication by the management and staff has obviously paid off as each time we've visited it has been busier and even better than before - well done!

This has become a firm favourite for us and we will be back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank WayneChandler139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited on 12th July for dinner, the decor was inviting and the welcome warm, especially from Alfie the dog! The menu is extensive and there is also a specials board. My wife chose from the pasta bar and I had a mixed grill. Being a warm evening, we sat on the terrace whilst we waited to be shown to our table. The terrace overlooks a lovely garden and pond, with lots of wildfowl roaming around.

The dining room is beautifully decorated and the tables set out with ample room to move around and not have anyone knocking your chair as they get in or out. The tables are dressed in a contemporary style.

Our food was excellent. The pasta was served in a cream source and had a choice of three extras. My wife chose bacon, mushrooms and chicken with a side salad and this was lovely. My mixed grill had steak, Cajun chicken and black pudding sausage, along with hand cut chips, mushroom, onion rings, tomato and garden peas and was scrumptious! Both dishes were generous in size. We were glad that we hadn't had a starter - lots of choice - and had a sweet instead, both choosing the jam sponge with custard. Again, scrumptious!

Neither of us drink alcoholic drinks, so we cannot comment on the beers or wines, but there appeared to be a good choice of both.

All through our meal, the staff were courteous and attentive. Our host has been slated somewhat in a few other reviews. I can only offer one bit of advice and that is give as good as you get and you'll enjoy your dining experience as much as we did!

We will definitely be back and we recommend this establishment highly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Ugly Bug Inn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing