We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of House Cafe

House Cafe
Ranked #198 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Popped in on Saturday morning for brunch after a recommendation from Hayley at the Window coffee shop. House has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and although it was clearly full of regulars (in a good way) was equally welcoming to newcomers.
I went for the Full House breakfast and my wife for the Eggs St Benedict - both were delicious and the portions were generous; in fact the Full House breakfast is sufficiently generous that it's served on two plates ! The coffee was lovely and we felt encouraged to relax and while away the morning. The whole lot came in for under £20 which, based on the quality and the environment, is tremendously good value.
We will definitely be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francelover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    35
    9
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast, great atmosphere, what a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Not quite sure whether dante88 was in the same place but we visited House Cafe two days for breakfast on the trot and found it a wonderful friendly place!

On the first day my partner had the Eggs Benedict which came with four muffin halves, three eggs, three rashers of bacon, and a little pot of freshly made hollandaise sauce. Really scrummy.

I had the large full cooked breakfast which had an extra sausage, and piece of bacon. Lovely fresh ingredients, and really tasty. It also came with two large pieces of Ciabatta toast and jam.

We switched round on the second day and I had Eggs Benedict with salmon instead of bacon. It came with a generous amount of salmon. My partner had the standard cooked breakfast that also came with a couple of extra bits which was great.

We would 100% recommend this excellent little cafe as a friendly place that serves lovely generous freshly cooked food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ignored”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Can't rate the food, none of the four staff even acknowledged me when I walked in, another customer told me the table next to them was free. When I went to the counter to ask if it was table service, the waitress tutted that she'd be over in a minute and went back to whatever she was doing. So I left. Hope that trendy being rude to customers vibe works out for you.

Helpful?
5 Thank dante88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We went here for a birthday breakfast and were not disappointed! We had a each had a full English with a large pot of tea :) staff are friendly, food is yum and the atmosphere is cosy what more could you want!

Helpful?
Thank Naomibuck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“by far the best on st benedicts street !!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

this is by far the best cafe/resturant/relaxing place in Norwich i would say the staff are friendly and accomodating, food is FRESH AND AMAZING , would eat or drink any where else

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taverham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House Cafe also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing