We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plague.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beeches Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beeches Lodge
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just a shocking experience. Awful rooms that didn't appear to have been made to appeal to humans. The windows had been blocked out, some with wood other with stickers over the glass to stop light. I'm assuming curtains must be too expensive. Just horrible. My headboard had a big pink stain on it. The bed looked like a piece of Tracy Emin art. Paper thin sheets, pillows, awful mattress. The smell of paint fumes was so strong that it almost made me sick. The TV had basically been thrown at the wall with a snakes nest of wires wrapped around it. The TV controller was for another TV set and consequently didn't work. Useless. The shower room was ok, looked like it had been done recently, though the flooring was from another planet, spongy and seemed to absorb the water. The real shame is that the outside of the building is potentially very beautiful and it has been completely spoiled. By the ugly interior. If you have a young family do not use MJB, I quite seriously think a young child would struggle to survive the night due to the heat and the fumes. The windows could not be opened in the room. MJB clearly so not care about their guests. It's cheap but still overpriced at any price. To top it off the drain from the building in the car park was leaking down onto Unthank road. MJB should be embarrassed and ashamed for the insult of an effort they have made. They have several 'hotels' in Norfolk, maybe they should concentrate on making one of them nice, instead of several terrible ones. Depressing to think somebody thought this is acceptable. Please spend a little bit more so you don't have to suffer this horror.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyVanDerBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    4
    5
    38
See reviews for
9
19
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I ended up at this disgusting establishment due to my other hotel booking unfortunately being cancelled for un-avoidable reasons.

The staff were extremely rude, there was a bad smell, stains on the floor, shower didn't work, beetles etc..

But worst of all they are committing fraud with a privately owned parking ticket company to stitch you up. I followed their strange policy to text your reg to a mobile number and ended up with two parking tickets in the same week!?

This hotel in Norwich should be avoided at all costs!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I arrived late at night and felt very insecure at this dark, dingy and dirty building. There were beer bottles in the corridor and the carpets were filthy with built up dust and dirt. The room was clean but the carpets heavily stained and the sink cracked. The only soap was a sachet of cheap shower gel, no hand soap. All the windows have been painted over with white paint and cannot be opened. I imagine this is to avoid the trouble of curtains.
The room was completely bare and the bedding sparse. The towels were in tatters and fraying. No breakfast.
Horrible. I was very stressed out and only stayed one night despite having paid for 3.
I found a guest house through the tourist office that was lovely, with full breakfast, rooms with every service and details that you would expect, and it was only £10 more for the 2 nights, than the 2-night rate at MJB.
I am amazed that this hotel group get away with it, it is a con.
It is a shame because it lets the city down, and some of the hotels that this group now run, used to be reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is basically a knocking shop for young teenagers who have parties until the early hours, smoke dope, and the management then.. (via a parking company they are in cahoots with) give you a £100 parking fine if you didn't follow the booking procedure exactly. (They were booking cars at 3am in the morning!) I fell for the trap that it was cheap... BIG mistake. At 2.30am I went next door to tell the 12 people in the room if they didn't shut up I would physically throw them out of the room! There were "parties" going on all around the properties. The room have stains up the walls, on the floor and the bed linen was used. AVOID AVOID AVOID. They deserve to be closed down and I will do everything in my power to do that! Oh and any business that has a two page complaints procedure as part of the booking confirmation really says it all!

Room Tip: Don't even think about booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malagaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Filthy - found a wadded up tissue under the pillow if you could call it a pillow.. Stank of smoke, Broken lights. Stained carpet Couldn't stay the night and imposed on friends. Was charged an unbelievable £70 for the pleasure

Room Tip: Don't visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 4, we had two rooms. The first room smelled heavily of damp. We called and tried to get it swapped but they were adamant all rooms were booked. We looked on booking.com and turns out they weren't. The people staying in the damp room had to open their windows for air at ground level, a security risk considering this is a drinking area. Our room had mould on the walls, old thin polyester sheets and greasy hand marks above the bed head from previous guests' 'night of passion'. All the windows are painted white as that is cheaper than curtains or blinds. MJB group seem to be all over this quite lovely part of Norwich offering a service-less soulless dirty hotel experience. Its cheap but terrible value. Avoid at all costs.I would recommend avoiding anything that MJB have to do with anything if this is how they conduct their business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coffeeassault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Booked a two night stay over the bank holiday, with all their terms and conditions outlining one those booked stay in the room, what a joke. Youngers in gangs with a bout 10 to a room, shouting and swearing in there rooms and in the corridors all night long. Rang customer services but to no avail.
Total and utter waste of time and money let alone the restless night. Never every again.
WHAT CUSTOMER SERVICES.!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PankajSheela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Lodge

Property: The Beeches Lodge
Address: 82 Unthank Road, Norwich NR2 2RW, England (Formerly Old Vicarage Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Hotel Norwich
The Beeches Lodge Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing