We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Star

The Golden Star
Ranked #126 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were looking for a bite to eat before the cinema, and on the reviews we decided on the Golden Star, a traditional pub we have known of for years but would not have thought of it for food. We were really impressed with the character, home cooking style, delicious meals served. Good beer too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A great pub in Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Its a bit off the tourist track. Its not a looker. But that's the outside. Inside you've got Lily who is most welcoming, helpful and you get the good looks there instead. That's for starters. Then there's the range of guest ales with samples willingly offered and a range of home-cooked dishes far beyond what you would expect in a small local. They have got a serious chef here. Did I mention the friendly locals? Or the very reasonable prices. I found this place by chance and I hope I will chance on it again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich.norfolk. england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came here a few months ago for a drink and saw the food looked very good,so came back last week.
Well what can I say but super,limited menu but the choice was so different from other pubs.
We had pork with buttered cabbage and mash potoaoes,with a Chinese jus,the pork was so tender it was like having the pulled pork that is so poplar at the mo.
I Lemon tart with raspberry ice cream.....lush !!,
Will certainly return again
Great atmosphere !!
£20 for 2 people: 2 main 1 sweet

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quizzical Pub with food (even breakfast!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This could be described as our local as we can be found at the Sunday evening quiz most weeks, even though it's almost 10 miles from home. Careful how you park - the wardens are quite prepared to slap a ticket on even at 9.30pm on a Sunday night!

Good selection of beers - Greene King (IPA, Abbot, etc. as well as unusual guest beers that change almost every week. During the day it is very quiet - it will be interesting to see how the breakfast from 7.30am will affect business.

The food is imaginative and although the menu is small, it is all home-cooked.

Well worth a visit as it is only 10-minutes from the centre of Norwich and much less frenetic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I'd go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice and busy pub. I did not have a meal here; just a pint or two and they were enjoyable! I'd have no reason to not return!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Star also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing