We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Guest House
Ranked #10 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here a couple of months ago now for a wedding at the Oaklands. We thought the service was excellent as the chap who welcomed us was friendly and offered to get our bags from the car. The building and grounds really are quite lovely, and surprisingly quiet, despite being near a main road. The photos on the website don't do this place much justice and they make it look a bit dated, but in person the rooms and buildings are quite vibrant with a very fresh feel to them. We booked a double room, but got one with an extra single in, which felt massive and airy with the high ceilings. There was a tv and dvd player in our room and some dvds outside should you find yourself requiring one. My only gripe was the towels were black, and despite probably looking more stylish than white ones, I just think white ones radiate a better feel of cleanliness. The rooms all had little figurines on the doors instead of numbers, which gave them individuality.

For 55 quid, we really were quite impressed as the breakfast, which was included, was one of the best I've ever had, beating quite a few larger 4* hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timale0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Quiet but in easy reach of supermarkets , pubs etc., My host was ex-RAF like me and we shared experiences. Breakfast was " all you can eat " and reasonable.
This time I had the self-contained annexe all to myself for two days while I attended an event in Norwich and the next day , Norwich Golf Day at a large stately home / golf course. If all these reviews are posted in chronological order , readers will form a " picture " of the places I stayed at on tour . All of these were quiet , reasonable and run in a quiet efficient way that ensured return visits.

Room Tip: ask for the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britbrat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were very taken with beautiful Hill House and the charming owners. We were visiting friends nearby, and were so pleased to have found such a gem of a place, so tranquil yet so convenient for the city too. We had a lovely double room overlooking the front, very comfortable bed, tea, coffee and chocolate facilities provided, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast each morning was cooked to perfection. Great value for money and somewhere we would definitely recommend, and hope to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hill House is nicely located a 5 minute easy drive away from Norwich in a quiet location. We had a family room and it was beautifully decorated, lovely and spacious, very New England style, tasteful and comfortable. A nice spacious bathroom too, a good shower and a really nice breakfast so great value and great accommodation, would definitely stay here again and look forward to seeing some of the other rooms. Very impressed :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This place is a Gem, stayed here one night, Close to the city, clean comfortable rooms and facilities, serves a nicely cooked Full English breakfast at a very reasonable price; Will certainly use this guest house again when i'm next in Norwich;

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was so pleased with our stay at this beautiful guest house. We booked a family room and were very pleasantly surprised when we were shown to a beautiful little annexe. We had a good sized bedroom and a living room with a sofa bed and a small kitchen. We had a large well equipped bathroom with an amazing power shower.we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be staying again in the future. The people who run this delightful place were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Would also like to add amazing value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

we stopped here one night,when we attended a family wedding nearby. The rooms were very clean,and spacious.the staff are extremely helpful.we would definitely advise any visitor to the area to use this lovely guest house,its absolutely top notch. And by the way the breakfast is very nice too!!

Room Tip: ask for the large room,as it has a double bed,and a large single,and also the bathroom is big too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Guest House

Address: 2 Hillside Road | Thorpe Saint Andrew, Norwich NR7 0QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hill House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing