We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location”

Trowel and Hammer Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trowel and Hammer Inn
Ranked #62 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, good location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was spacious, clean and recently redecorated with a nice ensuite. Pillows were weirdly hard but there were normal ones in the cupcoard. Location is very convenient - ten minute walk from city centre. Unlike others, we did not find the road particularly noisy. Breakfast was plentiful. We enjoyed our stay here and would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twohumpedgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

car park terrible, lovely room wasnt happy with the bed as very hard and had no sleep whatsoever ,need bigger towels ,also a bin would of been helpfull ,iron and ironing board,wasnt told anything about getting back into the place at night , breakfast times need to be longer .thought it was a lot of money for what is was wont be staying there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 414natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Trowel and Hammer on the 21/09/13 we just needed a central B&B as we were dropping our daughter off at UEA. On arrival the car park was packed but we had reserved a parking space when we booked,the owner moved his car to make a space for us,the bedroom was immaculate and finished off to a high standard as was the en-suite. Breakfast was very good which is served in the pub, be aware they do have live music playing most Saturday nights . We would definitely return .

Room Tip: we had room 6 its en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderers456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Be aware that when you get to the car park it looks full, but go into the pub and you will find they are reserving you a place by parking their van across 2 spaces. The rooms and the whole pub were spotless. We had room 5, which is en-suite. Very spacious. Comfortable bed and all very clean. The single member of our party had a standard room and he found it clean and comfortable. Some rooms you have to share a bathroom. In spite of the pub being on a busy road our room was peaceful. We stayed midweek when they did not have live music.
We ate there in the evening. The menu (Italian food) was small - always a good sign. We had to wait rather a long time but the 3 different dishes were all cooked from fresh, were delicious and all arrived piping hot. The servings were so generous we were unable to sample the desserts. We were offered foil dishes to take away food we had left. Prices of the food were very reasonable.
The beer was good and my continental draught beer was served at just the right chilled temperature.
Breakfast in the morning was a generous full English. The food at this pub would not be suitable for vegetarians, though.
We were less than 5 minutes walk away from the shops.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Norwich to visit family. The location is excellent and very close to amenities and the coach station. We didn't realise we had to share a bathroom but this wasn't an issue, though the bathroom could do with a blind. The rooms are quite small but nicely decorated and comes with a fan which is good. The staff are friendly and you have your own key for the gate so can be back whenever you want. Beds are a bit hard but all in all a nice stay for a few nights.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pippa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very convenient for city centre and also on main road. The pub is pretty ordinary, and gives no indication of the quality of the accommodation in a building at the back. This seems to be a new build, newly and quite tastefully furnished, and our large double en-suite was a very pleasant surprise. Everything was clean, well appointed, and we had no noise or disturbance from anywhere, at any time (Friday night). The breakfast was a huge full English (bit too much) but no continental style options were offered, with not much fine dining about it, but couldn't really complain. For anyone wanting a very handy spot (with car parking) and good accommodation, this does the job, although without any of the frills you might expect from more established hoteliers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnforth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is central (10 mins walk from the Castle) and had brand newly refurbished rooms (with massive bathrooms for some reason).
But don't go here, unless you like living with windows firmly closed and breathing the dubious air-freshener atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsGardener53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.0 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wedgewood House
Wedgewood House
#7 of 80 in Norwich
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Assembly House
The Assembly House
#6 of 80 in Norwich
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trowel and Hammer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trowel and Hammer Inn

Property: Trowel and Hammer Inn
Address: 25 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Trowel and Hammer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trowel And Hammer Inn Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing