We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian”
Review of The Clipper - CLOSED

The Clipper
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fabulous restaurant in Norwich, fresh Indian cuisine, was formerly named Bengal Spice about 2/3 years ago.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went in the evening in a large group of friends. The restaurant does seem to be popular given the large number of good Indian restaurants in Norwich. The food was good, the starters the best, the main course perfectly ok, value was good, service very attentive. All in all I would visit again reasonable value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went here for a work meal. Not been for some time but hasn't disappointed in the past and was very good on this occasion. Nice food and decent service. Would certainly return for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definitely not the worst ship I ever sailed on”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Norwich on a Monday night is not ideal as a place to eat. A lot of places were closed and we didn't want to go to a chain restaurant. Having found a place to park we came across this establishment. In some ways it is a stereotypical Indian or Bengali restaurant in a style you can find everywhere. We did however find the staff warm and friendly and the menu offered the sort of choices we expected. It was not busy but there were three or four other tables occupied whilst we were there and it seemed to us that the relatively nearby University of East Anglia must provide a lot of customers as academic conversations were heard all around us.
We had poppadums, fishcakes, chicken tikka, pilau rice, spinach, lamb biryani Nan bread and drinks. It was all well presented and very enjoyable. I wouldn't travel to Norwich to eat there but as a local place I would visit again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab indian!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Came here with my boyfriend on recommendation from a friend. Restaurant wasn't too busy, atmosphere was lovely. We were looked after very well. We had popadums to start, with a tikka masala and a chefs special dish as main. Food was brilliant and not over priced for the amount of food served..
Brilliant cuisine within the city, don't always need to book a table.
A*****

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We came here years ago and weren't impressed and somehow we ended up here with friends a couple of months ago. We were really impressed with the chicken jalfreizi and fishfreizi and the tarka dhal was one of the best I've ever had. Came back and had the lamb xacuti, delicious tender lamb in warm Goan spices, cinnamon, cloves and more. Makes a change to eat something that doesn't have the standard curry taste, just like you get on India. And gain the fantastic tarka dhal. Will definitely be back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clipper also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing