We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lord Rosebery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lord Rosebery
Ranked #17 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Having changed our plan to rent a car and drive to Norwich we mistakenly arrived at the Lord Rosebery before check-in time - the rooms are over the pub which does not open until 5pm. Fortunately, a tradesman was working on-site and offered to let us store our bags securely in the pub.

When we returned after dinner, our bags were in the room and the check-in procedure was very quick and very friendly. We were immensely surprised when we saw our room; large, very well furnished, amazing large and modern bathroom and a fridge stocked for in-room breakfast and picnic baskets filled with cereal, croissants jam and cutlery. All very classy. Replenishment of the breakfast supplies and housekeeping was thorough while we were out for the day.

This is a pub/guest house so services are limited, but everything is taken care of and check-out involves dropping the key in the mail box.

Comfortable recommending the Lord Rosebery for a pleasant stay in Norwich, al within walking distance of the city's attractions/

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
75
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Staff were super friendly and made you feel welcome and were very informative. The room itself was lovely the decor was classy and the bed was super comfy, and the bathroom had lovely big shower. We felt so relaxed here we defiantly want to come back. Great for the money!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee17xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a really wonderful stay at the Lord Rosebery. The staff went way above and beyond to make everything comfortable and give us some special treats for our anniversary, the room was beautiful, and the breakfast was quite good and nice to have in the room. It was quiet even though located right above the pub. It really was top notch. It is a little bit out of the city centre in a residential area, so you need to be prepared for a bit of walking, taxis, or buses (walk is approximately 40 minutes from the railway station, or 20 minutes from the town centre) if you don't have a car. We had a lovely time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked the suite, as we were staying for three nights. As well as good sized bedroom and ensuite bathroom, it contained a large lounge and small kitchenette. The bedroom, lounge and kitchenette were all front facing.

The decor in the bedroom was not really to my taste as the wood was dark, but it was all new and functional. The bed was comfortable, with good quality linen, there was a fairly large wall mounted TV in the bedroom, a dressing table, a small table and two chairs and wardrobe. A cupboard had a mini fridge (silent) to keep the milk, orange juice etc.. for breakfast cool, there were a couple of hampers containing plates, bowls and cutlery and jars of cereal, croisants, muffins etc.. on top. A tray on top of the cupboard had a kettle, a good supply of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, with cups and glasses, even wine glasses, biscuits and a kettle.

The continental breakfast was so well supplied we didn't feel the need to drive to the sister pub to have the cooked breakfast. However as this was included in the price paid, I feel it would have been a nice gesture by the owner to state that anyone not having the cooked breakfast at the other premises, could recieve a credit to be used at the bar downstairs?

Although all of the continental breakfast supplied was in the bedroom, I did prepare it all in the kitchen. I wonder if it would be better if it was all left in the kitchen in the suite and the cupboard utilised to house a laptop sized safe? Or a safe would easily fit into the bottom of the wardrobe.

The ensuite as well as loo and basin, contained a bath with a shower over, the shower proved to be a bit fiddly, but we found by not having the pressure turned up too much, the shower attachment stayed put and the water stayed in the bath. The facilities and tiling were new and there were plenty of towels, which were replenished every day.

The lounge was even nicer than shown in the photos, it was a lovely light room, with another fairly large TV and a arge glass table with four chairs. The kitchenette contained a fridge, another kettle, an electric oven and hob, sink and single drainer. I think there I spotted a sandwich maker in one of the cupboards. There were a good selection of utensils for basic food preperation, including saucepans. We did stay in one evening and bought some convenience foods to heat up, a microwave was not provided, but we used the oven.

The radiators are all thermostaticlly controlled, so we could have the rooms as warm or cool as we liked.

If we were to stay again I would probably book one of the other rooms as they were at the back, ours were all at the front and as it was weekend there was a fair amount of noise late at night. One evening it went on until midnight, but on others only 11pm. On the Saturday night a band were playing and we could hear the base in our rooms. However once the pub closed the road, a side road, was very quiet and we slept well.

Sorry this is so long winded! For the benefit of anyone wanting to stay and worrying, as I did about the lack of food put on by the pub. On the evening we arrived we had a pint downstairs, we'd rushed down as there is a Happy hour on until 7pm, unfortunatley we only found out after we'd ordered, that the ales we'd chosen were not included!! Although they have a good selection of real ales, we felt that the bar of the Lord Rosebery was a bit yuppified, so we moved on to the Duke of Wellington pub, in nearby Waterloo road and were able to order a take away to be delivered to the pub, as they don't serve food and the pub provide plates and cutlery. It was from the Indian nearby, we picked up a menu on our way passed, the food was great and we really enjoyed the selection of ales on offer. The ambiance was also very nice.

Norwich has a great selection of real ale pubs, so a great place to stay for anyone who likes a pub crawl.

Room Tip: Other rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanarmonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed one night on a business trip and will definitely stay again. Even after reading the reviews we were still surprised at the quality of the room and ensuite (which was large). The bed was very comfortable and the room well stocked. We were a little apprehensive about staying above a pub but needn't have worried as it was very quiet. The pub was well decorated and the locals and lady behind the bar were all very friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and we were offered a complimentary cooked breakfast at their other inn, the Blue Boar which was a short drive away. The city centre is within easy walking distance.Great value for money. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Booked at last minute. Upon on turning into the street I was a little surprised, quiet terraced road and a very ordinary pub. The welcome from the lady behind the bar was warm and very welcoming, telling us everything we needed to know. Still unsure what I was to find in the room though but it was a little palace! Quality fixtures and fittings, spacious and comfortable. Yes, a few minor decorating issues but this could not detract from the warmth and comfort of the room. The continental breakfast left in the room more than ticked all the boxes though didn't drive to the sister hotel for the cooked breakfast available free of charge. Fantastic value for money. Quiet with the city only a short walk away. Spotlessly clean too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masnuy-Saint-Jean, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed one night at Lord Rosebery and the first thing to say is that you really do receive a very warm welcome. The room was a lovely surprise as it is decorated to a lovely standard with the most wonderful walk in shower. The bed was so comfortable providing a great nights sleep. I was not to sure about having a breakfast hamper in the room but they provide you with everything even filter coffee. If you really can not live without a cooked breakfast you can go to their sister pub just up the road. I will definitely be staying here next time we come to Norwich.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angyweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#15 of 86 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Rosebery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Rosebery

Property: The Lord Rosebery
Address: 94 Rosebery Road, Norwich NR3 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Rosebery 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Rosebery is a Bed & Breakfast with 4 beautiful double en-suite bedrooms. We are just 20 minutes stroll from the centre of the fine city of Norwich and all its delights. Downstairs Redwell Brewery run The Rosebery bar & restaurant, please see their facebook page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lord Rosebery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Rosebery Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing