We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“work in progress, lots going on, so much to do”
Review of Beauchamp Arms

Beauchamp Arms
Ranked #537 of 833 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“work in progress, lots going on, so much to do”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After previous terrible meals here we stopped by today for lunch thanks to reviews here outlining new management. There is certainly a lot still to do here as it has been neglected for years. Friendlier bar staff, an air of progress. Drinks were cold and served as asked for, with ice. Two massive starter salads, prawn and mackerel £4.75. Pleasant sitting by the river but can be breezy. Tables outside, walls inside being redecorated late July. Look forward to returning when more is done. It was a hot day, but we enjoyed a walk by the river. Long menus but honest food. Id rather eat here than Waters Edge which may be designer decorated but is unwelcome and serves overpriced too fancy food of variable quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornetplayer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    8
    9
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pub with potential but it needs a major spruce up.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We almost didn't stay after mooring up & seeing the down at heel exterior, filthy bouncy castle & weedy garden/patio but we were pursuaded to stay because of the convenient location. The inside isn't much better than the outside - I can't remember when I last saw such a depressing pub interior, tatty menus & dreadful loos. We were nervous of eating because the place was so grubby - however the cheesy chips were very nice & a very generous portion - of the 4 of us 2 had decent food, 2 not very good at all although the beer was good. We were served by a very sweet and helpful waitress & what might have been the owner who was also keen to help. Sadly despite this, the broken glass in a door, torn carpet & "Rising Damp" style decor and furnishings made me very glad to get back on the boat. I hate to leave a bad review if they' ve just taken over but even if there's no money for a major refurb a place needs at least to be clean & tidy. Bare floor boards, clean windows, a coat of white paint inside and out and ditch the Blackpool boarding house clutter & the pub could start to live up to the location. It's a big place & a big challenge but I wish them luck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, great pub food”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This pub has obviously changed hands this year and the young couple running it are trying very hard to get rid of its previous reputation. Of all the pubs in this area, this is in the most idyllic location. Having walked there from Rockland staithe on a very hot day, we sat outside in the shade right by the river. There are some proper chairs and tables as well as lots of picnic benches. The lunch time menu was extensive, delicious, well cooked and cheap. The homemade burger was memorable and the ham salad featured home cooked ham. We couldn't believe that there were so few people there. Renovation work was taking place inside but a lot of work is needed. Highly recommended for its location, food and beer (Woodfords).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Helpful staff and good food and drink”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Where to start really, well at the beginning i suppose. On arriving out side the Beauchamp Arms on a warm sunny Friday night in early June, it looked a little tired from the outside.

But on venturing inside, yes it was a throw back 20 or so years, but what the decor lacked the staff certainly made up for. We started off on the Cornish Dunbar real ale, that went down rather easily.

Now onto the food we all had starters, the smoked mackerel was served up with a side salad and brown bread and butter, two who fillets on each plate!. Then onto a house home made burger i had the surf n turn burger fries and again a good sized side salad. The others had various other burgers all as good as each other in fact.

I can only give this pub an excellent rating, why not try it for yourself, here is a link to their new website that is going live very soon. http://www.beauchamparms.co.uk/

Charlie

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A time machine that takes you to the 1970s!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place is in a prime location on the River Yare between Norwich and Great Yarmouth. It's an attractive spot with plenty of mooring for the captive passing boat trade with no competition for miles in either direction along the Yare. We parked our car a couple of miles away near the New Inn in Rockland St Mary and had a pleasant walk along the waterways to the Beauchamp. Big mistake. Or as Julia Roberts said in Pretty Woman in the Rodeo Drive scene: HUGE mistake. To cut a long story short, I would recommend you direct your boat, car, feet, bicycle, pogo stick or whatever means of conveyance you have to the well managed New Inn - it, and the food, looks lovely when we stopped there for a drink after this sorry episode.

We arrived about 11:30am on the spring bank holiday before the place was due to open at 12. This should have been a clue - there were other people sat outside along with about six boats with people waiting. On one of the biggest pay days of the year for a place like this, any manager with any sense might have thought it worthwhile to open an hour early maybe? No. But OK: it says 12 on the door, so fair play.

The doors opened and I was second in a quickly forming queue, which rapidly grew to about 15 people, which wasn't helped by the first person ordering two lattes, something that always seems to throw British barstaff into disarray. There was a man around the bar who looked like he might have been the manager who was completely disinterested and at no time attempted to pitch in. I ordered drinks and food and sat down. Considering I was one of the first to order, the food took a long time to come. We had nearly finished our drinks so my wife joined the still long queue for the bar. She eventually got to the front just as our food arrived, but there was some crisis going on with another customer as the credit card machine wasn't working, so she had to abort the order before her food got cold.

The food was a real throwback to the 1970s both in terms of the lack of imagination on the menu, the presentation and the quality. A particular thing to be aware of is the chicken burger - called firecracker or similar - this is an OK burger but with a large dollop of seriously hot ketchup like substance that renders it inedible to all but the the most ardent lovers of vinadaloo or phal curries. I was also astonished to find the lady serving the food was the more experienced of the two struggling bar staff - the other one, who seemed to be on her first day was left to work the bar on her own.

The queue never really shortened significantly while we were there, so we never got our second drink. I dare say many other people felt the same, and many new arrivals probably just looked at the queue and went off somewhere else, so the Beauchamp must have lost a significant amount of takings because of the short sighted cost saving of not having enough bar staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Salading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beauchamp Arms also viewed

Chedgrave, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Beauchamp Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing