We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a flying visit”
Review of Marmalades

Marmalades
Ranked #7 of 64 Coffee & Tea in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just a flying visit”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would hardly call this delight in the Royal Arcade in Norwich a restaurant. I wouldn't call it a typical café either. I came here with a friend and had a pineapple drink which was divine and had bits at the bottom, that'll teach me for not shaking the bottle before using it. I also had a lemon cheesecake which was absolutely fantastic. It has just had a redecoration, unless I am going potty I can't say I noticed much unless the walls and ceiling have been painted in exactly the same colour which is a marmalade sort of colour. The only complaint I have is you have to go out the building and through a door near the White Lion Street entrance to the Royal Arcade but even so the toilets are clean and the place deserves it 5 star rating from the council.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bugseyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were visiting Norwich only for the day and were looking for a place for lunch and just happened upon Marmalades. Great find! It was chilly the day we were there, and we wanted something hot. We both had jacket potatoes with prawns, which came with a side salad. Excellent choice! The place was clean, the staff friendly, the prices more than reasonable. If I'm in Norwich again, I'd definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grundsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Been back again and again and again...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I've been in here several times and I've been very happy every time, it's a lovely place, very friendly, the food is marvellous. The double chocolate gateaux is too die for!! Lovely sausage rolls, paninis, brownies the list goes on, service is quicks and the price Is very reasonable :) I'll be back again

Helpful?
1 Thank Amybum1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“friendly friendly friendly”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Friendly staff, friendly atmosphere and belly-friendly food! Great little find, and I shall definitely be returning!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were staying in Norwich for a couple of days and wanted to find somewhere a little different from the usual chains for breakfast. Marmalades was ideal. Beautiful location in the Arcade and cheese on toast! Haven't seen that anywhere for years. It was delicious! Coffee was pretty good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynngaliszewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marmalades also viewed

 

Been to Marmalades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing