We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for steak lovers”
Review of Prime

Prime
Ranked #16 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tucked away within a chocolate-box setting, Prime at The Edith Cavell in Norwich offers chunky prime-cut steaks and a selection of grilled seafood. Food is served on a sizzling hot stone, where diners can cook their food to personal perfection.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for steak lovers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here 3 times over the past 18 months and would visit more often if I were living in Norwich full time. The steak is high quality and as I enjoy it very rare I am pleased to cook it on the hot stone. The staff are all friendly, helpful and professional. Ben has a great telephone manner and gives a friendly greeting when you arrive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motorhomelifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    124
    40
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Let me first say that I'm a steak lover and believe if you have your steak anything more than very rare indeed then you're wasting it!

With that in mind this place is brilliant!

Being able to cook your own steak is brilliant. I kept the whole steak to one side and just sealed individual pieces of very high quality meat, it was great! Get a nice fatty bit? crisp it off! Every bite can be different.

It also really adds to the experience, making a meal a bit more of an event and last a lot longer, I'm a huge fan!

It might seem a little expensive, but the portions are large and the quality is high, and when you actually get down and compare apples to apples at other similar steak places in the city it's about the same.

Give this place a go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDS713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

a must try if you are in Norwich. We all had different steaks and all thoroughly enjoyed them. Great qualify and quantity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdjsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely end to a lovely day.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for a meal with family for a birthday treat. What an absolute fantastic meal. Two of us had the fillet steak on the hot stone, one had the tuna steak and the other belly pork. Food was delicious. Good atmosphere, very good service too. A must to visit but please book.

Helpful?
Thank refueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food - Excellent Value”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visiting Norwich for the first time, left the Cathedral crossed the road to Tombland and found The Edith Cavell.

We had a really relaxing lunch. I had a prosecco, which was served perfectly chilled, my partner had white wine also served really chilled, wonderful on a really hot day. Both drinks were very reasonably priced. For lunch we had burghers which were great. The service was great, extremely attentive and helpful. It so good to go to a tourist area, have an excellent lunch and not get ripped off. A definite return visit when we next visit Norwich

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnStreatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prime also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing