We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility guaranteed”
Review of Salhouse Broad

Salhouse Broad
Ranked #16 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tranquility guaranteed”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have been visiting Salhouse Broad fairly regularly for 65 years ( I was born nearby!) and we keep returning . very little changes although you really have to look very carefully to find the last remains of the old torpedo boat that I played on as a kid

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank roystonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet, beauty & a welcome to all”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I loved Salhouse Broad on my recent visit. At the car park there is a donations box and toilet block. Then there is a 5 minute walk through pretty woodland, on paths and boardwalks to the shore of the broad. Dogs are welcome as are children!

We saw the first brood of 12 ducklings of the season much to the delight of the little children (their parents and their dogs!).

I enjoyed walking through the carefully marked paths in the bluebell woods, watching families play on the natural play equipment and I took a ride on the 'ferry' which was actually a six (?) seater open motor boat which takes you over to the nature reserve or around the broad and onto the River Bure and back for about 20 minutes. The tourist information says the ferry goes on the hour but if no one is at hand, you call up the mobile number given and they come straight away. They will arrange to drop you off on the island nature reserve and collect you at the time you set. It's only little. The two girls who work there full time, all year round are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The ferry cost £3.50.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BevG164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
367 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“It's Free! It's Pretty!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Salhouse abroad is one of the few broads (Norfolk lakes) you can walk to, after parking for free. It's one of the prettiest and smallest. You can hire a kayak. If you're on the river abjure, you can sail there. And the ice-cream launch is rarely far away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salhouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The finest broad in the Wroxham area”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I lucky enough to live only a short bicycle ride away, I must say I am a little reluctant to share this quite secluded place.
There,s a small car park at the entrance with public toilets and to reach the broad a short walk along a wooded path.
I guess its suitable for wheel chairs prams etc although a little muddy this time of year.
There,s a large grassy hill to sit and watch boats and birds with rustic benchs randomly placed
An ideal place for picnics... BBQ,s must be raised from the ground so you dont burn the grass, Also a small childrens play area with logs and balance platforms.
In the summer months you can rent a canoe and the ice cream man arrives by boat.
A nice place to spend an afternoon on a sunny day but it does get busy in the summer months.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Magic of the Broads.”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

If on a boating holiday, this is the one Broad that must be visited. Not too far from Wroxham by the River Bure, there is excellent fishing and mooring along side a grassy field for children to roam. Extremely peaceful with no distractions, apart from the occasional visit by a small dingy selling ice cream !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salhouse Broad also viewed

 

Been to Salhouse Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing