We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and unrushed”

Norwich Theatre royal cafe
Ranked #393 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice and unrushed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very interesting to read the reviews before posting mine. I visited with some friends before going to see Happy Days. I found the greeting friendly and welcoming, the waitress (same waitress all evening which was lovely) to be friendly, accommodating and very efficient. The food was excellent! And what a treat to have the table for the whole evening, meaning that our interval drinks were at our table waiting for us and our coats stayed safe on the restaurant throughout our visit. I hope this is the norm for this restaurant, if it is it's onto a winner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently went to the theatre and decided to have a snack there as we did not want to go into the restaurant.
I have to say the food did not really come up to expectation, I had a jacket potato and ratatouille , the potatoes appeared hard and I did mention it to the guy behind the counter but he said they were ok, unfortunately it was the worst jacket potato I have ever had, it was ver dry, must have been there since the matinee performance so it was very disappointing.
My friend did not fancy the food so she asked about the sandwiches but only 3 choices so she opted for a biscuit instead.
It is a shame as it is a lovely place and atmosphere brilliant but I doubt I would go there again for food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eily-Wily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Convenient but disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very convenient for the theatre with the added advantage of having your table and pre-ordered drinks available at the interval. The service was very good and the general atmosphere of theatre goers give the place a buzz. However, we had chicken supreme and sea bass for dinner which were at best average, the desserts similar. Worth considering for the convenience of the theatre but not for a celebratory dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OFF HAND”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We only wanted coffee before the Pantomime,but were greeted in a very surly manner by the waitng staff who reluctantly brought or coffee and insisted we pay there and then,as they didn't want us to run up a tab.Not what we expected at all fro a restaurant/café that has had some good reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike503734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We ate here prior to the opera on 9/11/13. The pigeon starter was tasteless, chewy and dry. The main course of duck was equally tasteless with a tough wet skin on the top. Just a large inedible portion of wet grey rubber. The red cabbage accompaniment was just a wet flavourless mess. The confit of duck leg appeared to be a potato croquette with a couple of crumbs of duck in it. The only good thing were the chips. We didn't bother with a desert. The espresso coffeee was also served luke warm. I didn't think restaurants still served such bad food anymore. Presumably the meat is cooked in some sort of boil in a bag contraption all in with the red cabbage so it is simmering away warm and wet prior to being served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norwich Theatre royal cafe also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
Costessey, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Norwich Theatre royal cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing