We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pint - pitty about the sandwiches!”

The Murderers Public House
Ranked #278 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pint - pitty about the sandwiches!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The pint of Woodmans Wherry was first class but that was soon followed by signs of problems when the sandwiches arrived. We had ordered one sausage and one beef with horseradish baguettes. Somehow the sausage had become prawn and the beef had not seen any horseradish.
The prawns went back to be replaced by something resembling what I had ordered.The sausage had been shopped into discs and overcooked and my baguette had been so mistreated that it has ward to cut with the knife I had been given, whole the one around my wife's beef had icy cold and unpleasant. Not a happy eating experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnManning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    35
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
boston uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great friendly pub”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Visited norwich for a weekend and Me and my husband nipped in here on a Saturday afternoon for a quick pint and to check out we're tv screens were as there was a big boxing match being screened that night, great pub with a welcoming atmosphere,when we re visited in the evening it was very busy but still plenty of staff quick service and there was plenty of screens around the pub for viewing of the boxing ,and staff were quick at serving and collecting empty glasses would highly recommend this pub didn't try the food but defiantly will on our next visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good basic lunch.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had lunch (chicken and bacon salad and an omelette). Its good but not outstanding pub-grub. Good service.

Helpful?
Thank Urabus124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Murderer's”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have popped in here a few times and it is one of Norwich's best pubs. The beer is invariably excellent, the pub is spacious enough to always get a seat and the bar staff are polite and knowledgable - we also saw Cheslea lose here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty pub grub”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The Murderers/The Gardners Arms in Norwich is a deservedly busy pub. The food is tasty pub grub, the staff are friendly and efficient, and the service is some of the fastest I've seen in a while, despite the number of customers in there. I've also had some nice drinks in there on several occasions (somewhat later in the day!) The pub is almost always full of people enjoying themselves.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Murderers Public House also viewed

 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Been to The Murderers Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing