We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect - apart from the parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pottergate Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect - apart from the parking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed in these apartments previously. They are, as everyone says, fabulously situated in the centre of Norwich. A short walk to great pubs and restaurants. They're modern, clean, well fitted and very comfortable.
The only problem we had on this occasion which was my daughter's graduation, was that I was told, despite there being 4 empty spaces in the secure car park outside the apartments, that I couldn't park there.
After several messages left on my answerphone telling me to move it, I established that one has to verbally reserve a space, before you arrive I suppose, which is then yours for your entire stay. Nobody else can use it at any time of day or night, even if you're out.
I can't understand how this system can work.
Free hotel car parks, have a first come, first served system. If the car park is full when you arrive, then you find alternative parking. There was no mention of this system being in place in any of the confirmation emails.
I accept that I was able to park for free in the St Giles Hotel car park which is really near, but I feel that the regulations should be made clear when booking.
Just by the by, we got back to the apartment quite late at 1am, and there were 4 spaces - gosh those people who had nabbed them were out late!
So my recommendation is, definitely stay here, they're really great apartments, but do phone ahead or email to secure yourself a space for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikegoingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    14
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
24
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Clean, comfortable, ample space, nicely decorated and a warm, helpful welcome on arrival. Ticked every box for us and I wouldn't hesitate to return. Perfect location for the city centre.

Very satisfied guests!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in Pottergate apartments for the Easter weekend for my daughters wedding. Fantastic accommodation, plenty of space, huge TV, free wifi, all the facilities we needed including gated parking. There are two bedrooms, one with en-suite bathroom and the other has a separate bathroom. Easy access to town, supermarkets just round the corner and the marketplace is a short walk. Good value for money. We usually stay at the Best Western nearby but will try and use these apartments from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Brand new and highly finished apartments with secure parking. We had a 2 bedroom with lounge diner. Only thing is to make sure and get a front door fob that works, more than 1 toilet roll and check to see if bbc channels work.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tasty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent location, spotlessly clean and really nice and warm when you're visiting in mid winter.

This place was a really nice place to base yourself within minutes of the very centre of the city so you can drop in and out whenever you like, whether to get another layer of clothing, pick up your camera or just take a break.

Really clean with a great standard of finish. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Visited family who are currently working in Norwich. They arranged the accommodation for the three of us. WOW....such a smart and comfortable place and right on the edge of town. A spacious, modern, comfortable and very clean first floor apartment with everything you need for a short or longer stay and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend you stay at the Pottergate Apartments and we thank the wonderful staff at St Giles House Hotel who are connected to P.A. for helping to make our 2 night stay so great.

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroom apartment was on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonsays3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

These are very well placed apartments within a few minutes stroll up the cobbled lane to the centre of everything you would need to be near in Norwich. The apartments are very newly refurbished and we found them very good value for money - if you were to have a suite at any hotel you would pay four times as much and, in my opinion, they were even better than a suite. The spa and bar facilities at the nearby St Giles Hotel are also available to you at the apartments. The apartments have been been nicely decorated and attention to detail with pictures, lamps and lovely soft furnishings really makes it a home from home. We went with another family for two nights - they had the apartment above ours: the purpose of our trip was Christmas shopping, plus a certain football game at Norwich FC (which was also within walking distance). We both had the one-bedroomed apartments and paid a small supplement for the fold-away bed in the study for the third person. The only drawback that this only suits a child rather than a third adult so if you are going as a group of 3 adults or more, then you would need to get a two-bedroom apartment to get a reasonable level of sleeping comfort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottergate Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottergate Apartments

Property: Pottergate Apartments
Address: 75-81 Pottergate, Norwich NR2 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 luxury serviced apartments. Brand new with modern furnishings, fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pottergate Apartments Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing