We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good chips! Great flavour!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Chip - CLOSED

Hot Chip
Cuisines: Fast food, British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Takeout
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good chips! Great flavour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Taking a spin on a classic, with a large variety to choose from. I can highly recommend the spaniard and turkish delight; had both on numerous accounts and not been disappointed. Good portion sizes and very reasonable prices for a lunchtime favourite. If you haven't tried hot chip yet, you should definitely make a point to visit soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“green potatoes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've been here a few times, generally its not a bad place for chips. They are a bit overpriced for chips considering the market does chips for less than £1. However, i have been disappointed with the chips not being cooked once (due to a fryer problem) and having had green potatoes twice!
Overall, could be cheaper for just being fried potatoes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting idea but the chips could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

If such a thing can exist, I'd call myself a chip connoisseur and I'm sad to say that the titular element in my bucket of Salt Beef Chips just wasn't up to par.

They were cooked but just the sort of chip that makes you think they're single-fry-from-frozen (like a Chinese take-away's chips) rather than freshly blitzed out, twice-fried chip-shop chips. That gets a big "Meh" from me.

That said, the salt beef was delicious and generous and several of the other toppings looked good too. It's an interesting idea but they have to improve the chips.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never dissappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

If we are in the city for the day we will stop for lunch at hot chips and have never had a bad meal. The chips are always hot made as you watch, my personal favourites are The New Yorker and The Spaniard. Really reasonably priced, great lunch idea and fantastic flavours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doherty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beaut chips... Great concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Been here twice, first when relatively new and again recently...was great the first time but even better the second time down to the menu, so much choice and clearly a lot of thought and preparation gone into the menu. I had the veggie chips with halloumi and it was soo good... The halloumi was the best I'd had! My husband had the New Yorker which looked just as special and thoroughly enjoyed them...we wanted to head back later to have dessert, (the banoffee pie chips looked great) but we were full up for the day! And great service considering it is just a counter shop....Who needs chips of the market??
Healthy chips that leave no trace of grease in the pot and delicious toppings!!

Helpful?
Thank Carly2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Chip also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing