We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time!”

Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire
Ranked #1 of 30 Tours in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Broadland village of Potter Heigham Herbert Woods is the perfect place to begin your Norfolk Broads Adventure.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Hired the Superior Light for a week. Gorgeous boat. My 15 year old son took full control and loved every minute. Such a lovely way to spend a week. Boat was fab - can't fault it - apart from position of oven - seriously burnt leg on oven door when open. Boats full of stag parties spoil the tranquility but thoroughly recommend this type of holiday.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MerylJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awalker_12, at Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi MerylJane,

Thank you so much for your review we're glad you enjoyed your holiday on board Superior Light and I hope the Stags didn't cause you too much trouble. I will pass your comment about the oven on to our engineers.

We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    55
    6
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Although our boat was from Richardsons, we did go to Herbert Woods for water and to moor during our time in Potter Heighman, the staff were very helpful and friendly.......looking into using them in the future

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank candles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awalker_12, Marketing Director at Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Candles22,

Thank you for your review, I am glad we could help. We would love to have you on one of our cruisers in the future, just let us know if you need any help deciding which one. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Helpful, not !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just wish to thank everyone at Herbert woods boat yard. Upon arrival there, having limped our small fishing boat to the BIG NAME OF THE BROADS.......  HERBERT WOODS  , we asked in reception if there was an engineer about who may take a quick look at our problem. Only to be told from the receptionist, we don't ! Not even a ok I will see what we can do,. Oh and also this is our busy day with change overs, so basically we only like to take customers money and really not bothered about helping or assisting anyone on the broads.
IN the lettings area next to Herbert's reception, again we asked the same question, and to my joy a gentleman, wearing a Herbert woods staff shirt suggested a marine engineer near by, only problem could not remember his name, or phone number.
Limping onwards Slowly, we arrived at said destination, only to be told they have ceased trading 4 years ago. ,

However, help appeared with the most helpful lady in the small shop at Womack staithe , upon hearing our troubles, offered us a cup of tea, and suggested giving Martin a call , oh and signal isn't great for mobiles, so please use the land line.  Martin said he would come and have a look, and fifteen minute later Martin arrives.

A quick diagnosis, need new parts, but I can help you out with a loan engine, and new fuel. Martin returned with said items, and took our outboard away, arranging to meet us and collect on Sunday. SERVICE and HELPFULL. A true gentleman of the BROADS.

As for Jenny in the shop again a saviour !

Finally, it is not all about making money ! It's about helping others sometimes and therefore promoting the broads and what joys it holds.
If your reception had tried or asked and not able to help then fine, but to say we are busy with hand overs, instead of writing our disgust with Herbert woods we would have be singing your praises. Instead I will happily suggest to friends and family heading to the broads to look for any boat hire firm EXCEPT HERBERT WOODS ! , !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awalker_12, Marketing Director at Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Keith,

I have looked into your complaint and I am sorry that we were unable to help you on this occasion. As our receptionist stated at the time all of our engineers were out on call and I am sure that you will appreciate that in circumstances such as these our customers have to take priority.

Regards,

Amanda Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I agree with sue b (I was on same boat!). I would add staff and engineers were excellent. When we had a problem an engineer was with us in 30 minutes. My only negative observation is that sliding roof stiffness should have been sorted before we took boat. I accept however the odd thing is bound to slip through even in the best run establishments

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eureka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awalker_12, Marketing Director at Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass on your comments about the sliding roof to our engineers. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
560 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“4 day boat hire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A large well equipped boat hire facility at Potter Heigham bridge, Norfolk.
Excellent web site and brochure was well designed and comprehensively informative.
There is a range of boats from the smallest day boats to the very large many bed roomed, bow thruster aided boats.
We were given a quick hand over and short helming demo from the staff on our 5 berth "Evening Light "boat part of their Elite range of boats.
The boats seemed more modern but more expensive to hire than comparable boat yards based in Wroxham, Ludham Bridge or Stalham.
There was plentiful and secure car parking.
Our boat was clean and fairly well equipped.
We had a double bed at the back and sofa bed seating in the galley.
Our roof was arranged in 2 parts that could be opened independently but was very stiff and needed strength to push open.
We had a folding table, microwave and small cooker and fridge. There was a small shower room/ toilet.
We had no equipment to indicate our water capacity or fuel consumption . Fuel prices were higher than we normally pay for our own motor boat as the company over charges for fuel and not passing on the usual fuel allowances.
If you have a limited number of days available or affordable, you do best to hire a boat from the company situated in the area of the Broads you want to explore.
Some areas will not be possible to explore in the taller boats because of the low height of a few of the bridges.
We could not go under the bridge at Potter Heigham on our last day to explore Hickling Broad as the water was too high to allow us to pass under this the lowest bridge despite us being provided with a pilot as part of our hire package.
In our 4 days we managed to travel to Acle Bridge, mooring at The Bridge Inn for the night. This was an excellent pub, good food, excellent service, lots of children's play equipment and rare wifi provision ;
To Horning and Wroxham, mooring at the Ferry Inn; to Stalham, mooring at Ludham Bridge; and along the dyke at Thurne.
Mooring places are limited, generally attached to pubs and it is advised to get moored by late afternoon although mud anchors could be lowered in sheltered areas. Most of the banks are covered with reed beds so it is difficult to attach lines to rond/spikes on the river sides.
The rivers are set low in the surrounding countryside and the land is so flat that you can only see boat roofs gliding along river trails.
There are lots of geese and ducks, many birds and a few heron wildlife.
Unfortunately there were masses of large blue bottles that plagued our travels.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awalker_12, Marketing Director at Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire also viewed

 

Been to Herbert Woods - Day Boat Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing