We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ding dong goes the Bell”
Review of Marlingford Bell

Marlingford Bell
Ranked #155 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ding dong goes the Bell”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Busy weekend no time for cooking so we decided to go out for Sunday lunch at the Marlingford Bell and very pleased we did.........
The first bonus is the quality and selection of real ales probably one of the best pints I've had in many years. Very pleasant staff both behind the bar and waiting on
The Sunday lunch was reasonably priced but if excellent quality with everything being freshly prepared in the premises - I know because I asked
Pub / restaurants like this are becoming hard to find and this place is a real gem
Highly recommended will be back soon to try the Wednesday curry night

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHipperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Lovely little pub. Bit if the beaten track but well worth the visit. Delicious pork belly very reasonably priced. Few good ales. No pretentiousness at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Few people in for a Sunday!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Popped in just to try the Sunday lunch , staff were friendly but very quiet, fair sized meal portions, very similar to my home cooked, the beef was really tasty but the duck was bland and you couldn't tell what meat it actually was. Saying that though chocolate sponge and custard for dessert was fabulous and I'd go back just for that!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my friends stumbled across the Marlingford bell while out for a sunday drive, we popped in for a pint at first, bar tender was good with the description of ales and lager. We sat for half an hour and decided we stay for lunch the menu was good and as you would expect the Sunday roasts were on, we decided to go for the roast option and I was not disappointed, the food was cooked to perfection and you had a good plate full. When we were done the pud menu came along, well what can I say I'm a sucker for bread and butter pudding and was delicious the menus are a good size and meals. The landlord and landlady were polite as we met them after our meal, if u are after a good country pub with good cooked food give the bell in Marlingford a try I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank beerdrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch for Miles”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The best Steak & Ale pie for miles !! and the Duck is Fantastic.
Have visited for Sunday Lunch on several occassions and never been dissapointed.
Service is excellent as is the food and very reasonably priced.
Great Dinner/Jazz night last week.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlingford Bell also viewed

 

Been to Marlingford Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing