We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flathouse - CLOSED

Flathouse
Price range: US$13 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Flathouse is now under new management and some great changes are coming!!!!! Flatbreads have been around for thousands of years in various forms and here at Flathouse we will be bringing you meals from around the world that share the Flatbread theme, combined with great coffee, delicious wines and a wonderful atmosphere. Come and start the day with our all day veggie or meat brekkie, served on freshly baked, savoury brioche with the best scrambled egg in town and our homemade tomato sauce. For lunch and supper we currently have a delicious selection of spelt flatbreads like our Steak and Cheese; slow roast local brisket with salsa verde, caramelised onions and cheddar. Or the Funghi; roast button mushrooms on creamy stroganoff sauce with crumbled blue cheese and fresh rosemary. We also offer our homemade, open, beef burgers and veggie burgers served on toasted savoury brioche with homemade chutney, salad and hand-cut, chunky chips. From May we will be introducing our Curries with Naan bread and Tagines served with African Khobz bread. For the sweet toothed we have an amazing array of homemade cakes, flapjacks, puddings, brownies and cheese cakes and of course we have our incredible coffee made for us from our own blend of locally roasted beans.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A gem! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to the Flathouse and really only because the restaurant we were going to had too long a waiting list (shame on us)! REALLY pleased though and the food was very good indeed and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. We had a selection of dishes and all were tasty and generously proportioned. Friendly waiter (with nice eyes). Looking forward to another visit in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited for breakfast. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and superbly presented. Friendly, attentive service and relaxed environment. Whilst not sampled the lunch/dinner menu looked interesting and very tempting. Whether you are looking for relaxed brunch, light lunch, dinner or just a coffee/tea give the flat house a try - highly recommended. ,

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guido-Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Despite change of hands service is still poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently visited the Flathouse (on a saturday) we enjoyed the food however were not impressed with the service.
We walked into the Flathouse and weren't greeted by anyone or shown to a table, the staff kind of just looked at us gormlessly.

We ordered 2 cold sandwiches and a side of chips, our food took over half an hour to arrive and it definitely wasn't busy! Why it took over half an hour to prepare 2 cold sandwiches I don't know.

Whilst waiting for our order we over heard 2 ladies complaining they had received the wrong orders and decided to up and leave because they didn't want to have to wait any longer.

Overall staff didn't seem very attentive or on it really, service just felt a bit lazy. Luckily the sandwiches were cheap and tasted good. Not sure if we will come here again, maybe to try to brunch but don't go here if your starving as you will be waiting a while.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place in Norwich to eat & drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

excellent food, good range of drinks, friendly atmosphere, clean, continental style feel...well done

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mangoman6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different and very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a couple of times recently, once for lunch and once for dinner, and on both occasions have found the food to be delicious and the service very friendly and attentive. The flatbreads are a really tasty alternative to the traditional pizza and come in an interesting range of choices. the norfolk sausage and Harissa was mouth-wateringly delicious. This is the sort of place that norwich does really well - quirky, independent, friendly atmosphere, great use of local produce - I really hope it thrives. Only criticism is that it feels more like a lunch place than for dinner. There maybe should be more hot dish options in the evening, particularly for starters, and perhaps some more interesting drink choices (craft beers, cocktails) to entice a more lively evening crowd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flathouse also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing