We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish”
Review of The Blue Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Boar
Ranked #13 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We haven't been to the Blue Boar for about 2 years, and we won't be going back. This staff were very nice and friendly but that is as good as it got. The table we had needed a good wipe over it was sticky, the cutlery was stained, and the roast was a rip off, the veg (if that's what you could call it) was celery sliced a couple of slices of carrot and a couple of green beans. Its such a shame because it used to be a great pub.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stebboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Boar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We came for dinner on a Tuesday evening and the pub was fairly empty. Sat at a table and, as described by an earlier reviewer, table was sticky and the whole interior looked in need of a refurbishment. Waitress was very friendly and helpful with regards to my wife's gluten intolerance. Food was ok but nothing special; my wife had a prawn cocktail and a (salty) gammon steak, I had BBQ wings and a rump steak cooked exactly as specified. With a pint of lager and a glass of wine the bill came to an ok £50.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a evening meal here. The service from the waitress was fantastic. She was very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the outdoor play area. Plenty of space for them to run around and far enough away from people that want to enjoy a quiet drink outside. That's where the positives have to end, I'm afraid. The food was only just average and the place looked like it needed a really good clean. A pet hate is sticky tables in a restaurant...not good!!
It would probably be more suited for a quick lunch rather than an evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferand2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Its fantastic Restaurant.the food is very nice as are the staff and helpful.its has a very good kids areas.and is a good place to go to just chill and have a drink and play pool.i go here at least once a month and love it more every time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Again a return visit for Sunday lunch, and food served all excellent, the four of us had different things.I recommend the lamb shank, which was much better than the one my brother in law had at The Jolly Sailors in Lowestoft on the previous day (qv my review). Portions are enormous, bordering on the ridiculous. Lovely polite,attentive and attractive waitresses !
Its near my brother in laws, so will probably go again. Bill with drinks £48 + grats.
Didnt realise it was a hotel until I read reviews on here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Way beyond our expectations.staff great location very easy to find the room was spacious and very clean.the bar area was good with extended restaurant going into conservatory leading to a very large garden. There were kids playing lots of room for them to run around without disturbing drinkers.the food WOW superb and huge portions. I would thoroughly recommend this pub to anyone. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranger555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We've been to the Blue Boar on numerous occassions to eat for family gatherings, special occassions (recetly valentines), and general dining both lunchtime and evening. We choose to travel from Hethersett, just outside of Norwich to come here, as it is our favourite bar/restaurant in Norwich, and well worth the half hour journey round the ring road!

The staff are always Welcoming, Friendly and Attentive, no matter how busy they are. The food is always very tasty and homecooked with portion sizes which will satisfy even the biggest of appetities! My personal favourites here are Lasagne (homecooked and so scrummy!), Mixed Grill (Guaranteed to give you the meat sweats!), Burgers (the best quality everytime), Smothered Chicken (just the right amount of sauce!). Top Tip - Try to leave some room for dessert - Especially if they have Bannoffe pie on the specials!

I've had friends stay here overnight too for a wedding up the Road at Sprowston Manor (2 minutes away). They were very complimentary about the rooms stating they were comfortable, clean and homely, with a Breakfast the next day which blew way any cobwebs from the night before!

I've recommened The Blue Boar to friends and colleagues, all who have come back and thanked me for the reccomendation. All in all a great place to eat / drink / stay - if you are reading this wondering weather to book - DO IT! you will be so pleased you did!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarabrownuk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.5 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
216 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar

Address: 259 Wroxham Road, Norwich NR7 8RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Boar Inn is situated on the road from Norwich to the Norfolk Broads just 1 mile from the Ring Road, 10 min drive from the city centre,15 mins from the train station and Norwich International Airport. Sprowston Marriot Hotel and golf course is 10 min walk away. We have 5 delightful en-suite bedrooms and are rated 4 star by Visit England. Our delicious food is in the main home-cooked and sourced locally. We have 2 bars where it is great to "meet the locals." 4 Cask ales are on offer plus a good range of lagers and wines. We have a beautiful garden with a great kids' play area. There is lots of car parking. We can host functions of up to 100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blue Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Boar Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing