We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Lenny Henry's Good Nights Sleep Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Lenny Henry's Good Nights Sleep Here”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Rooms are stuffy, cant have windows open due to the close proximity of A47 slip road. Shower head coming away from wall with piece of tile attached. Noise from other residents going to rooms late at night. Duvet heavy. Constantly having to get more milk, coffee and tea etc from reception. Only one hand towel for two people (company policy)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    152
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
142
122
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights.
A £10 taxi ride from Norwich.
Room okay (nearby road is a bit noisey with window open)
It's all a bit tired, with an actual key to the rooms - very retro.
Shower a not creaky.
But it is what it is I guess, a basic bed. Place is full of pensioners so appeals to those on a budget.
Only negative - the breakfast next door in the attached pub. A shocker. The chef murdered our fry ups, inedible. Pity as it's £8.25 wasted and needed to then buy a decent breakfast with actual cooked sausages and with an egg you didn't have to carve with an axe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_f_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

In many respects this is a perfectly reasonable budget hotel. But it's not quite up to the usual standards of Premier Inn: the rooms are starting to be a bit tired and our family room was very cramped with no space between the beds. You can tell it is one of the older PIs as you actually get a real key, not a plastic card to get in. Decent beds, pillows, breakfasts, but not enough ventilation as usual - I would imagine it would be unbearable in high summer. The adjacent TableTable pub/restaurant is okay, but lacks character.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I've always had a great stay here. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and they always put me in the room I like.

I always look forward to staying here when I'm in the Norwich area.

The restaurant next door does need some attention.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during a charity bike ride - the receptionist was very helpful and pleasant. Room very clean and comfortable. Lots of parking. Restaurant - good food - staff very good both evening and breakfast.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night following a wedding with my wife. The hotel was in a good location at a reasonable price.

We were given a warm greeting at reception and allowed to check into our room early. No lengthy forms to fill out just a quick and easy check-in. The room was comfortable and had everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Had a good nights sleep and the generous 12pm check out time and breakfast until 11am meant there was no rush the following morning.

Ate breakfast at Table Table next door the following morning. There was a good selection and the full English was well received following a night of drinking. Check out was a simple putting of keys in the slot and our stay was done. Premier Inn is a good choice for a completely functional and care-free short stay.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Normal expectations not spoiled, great location for Sundown Festival....Breakfast not so good on the sat due to staff shortages 45 - 55 min wait, but sun was as we normally expect...Staff were great always polite,room 119 cleaned and presented well...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your great comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fabulous time at the Sundown Festival! I'm sorry it took a little longer than normal to get breakfast on this occasion, I hope this won't deter you from visiting us again and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.8 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
Address: Dereham Road | Longwater Interchange, New Costessey, Norwich NR5 0TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norwich
#6 Family Hotel in Norwich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get straight to the heart of the action with Premier Inn Hotel Norwich (Showground/A47), right next to Norfolk's exhibition and events centre. And with great transport links nearby, you'll also be well placed to explore business and leisure destinations around Norfolk. Catch the main event at Norfolk Showground. Throw mortar boards at the University of East Anglia. Or zip into Norwich and discover the Cathedral, Castle, shops and cafes in its vibrant city centre. After a busy day, unwind with a hearty meal in our restaurant and relax in your extra-comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich (Showground / a47) Hotel Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing