We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“does what it says on the tin...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just a one night stay here...have to say that the staff were all friendly and attentive. The room was as expected, clean, comfy bed and a selection of pillows. I really think that their mantra re: keeping noise levels down and being considerate of others really works. I had a really good night's sleep and a good breakfast in the restaurant next door.
Have to agree with others re: the parking which is really tight...I expected to find my car boxed in by one of the many white vans that were in the car park...but all was well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    143
    48
    13
    5
See reviews for
134
112
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Used this hotel based on previous reviews and location to where we were visiting and was not disapointed. Staff are very friendly and attentive and the room was very clean and looked modern.
Would definately stay here again, and heartily recommend the breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawlo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This isn't the best PI I have stayed at - at best average but the car park is nothing short of ridiculous. I can only think it was designed by someone who thinks everybody drives round in a Nissan Micra as the spaces were so small - anything large salloon size+ is going to struggle here. On arrival we were checked in & at the same time a very flustered woman with 2 kids came and told the receptionist she had had to park in the disabled bay as there was no spaces. Each night I struggled to get a space and this always involved a 5 or 6 point turn. Lots of vans & lorries with one lorry taking up FIVE spaces last night. It isn't helped by the pub customers clogging up the car park which should plainly have an area set aside for hotel guests - incredibly frustrating. Staff hadn't got a clue about local facilities - night staff very surly & unfriendly. Room is cold and the little heater barely keeps the chill out - found myself under the covers of my bed to keep warm. Poor and would not stay at the PI again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stay here several times a year. It is always well maintained and the staff are friendly. It is just over the road from the Park & Ride into Norwich city centre, about 25 mins away. The rooms are a good size for families. Close to busy A47 but we have never experienced excessive road noise. Opposite Norfolk showground entrance. A good location for getting out and about. The restaurant menu is good and the food nice. Breakfast is good and the deal with kids eat free makes it excellent value for money. We will stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at the Showground whilst visiting relatives ahead of Christmas and had a pleasant, laid-back, stay.

The room was very spacious, with lots of floor space around the bed, desk and sofa and a full-size bath in the bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable, the room decently lit and the fixtures and fittings in good condition. The bathroom was large and clean, but could have been a little better-lit.

My regular bugbear was accentuated by the size of the room; the nearest socket was approx 4 metres from the bedside table. Modern hotels need bedside sockets – every traveller has at least one of a smartphone, an e-reader or a tablet now.

Public areas were clean and well-lit, the staff were friendly, and the food at the attached pub-restaurant was decent, and well-priced, and there is a large free car park on site.

The hotel is approx 15-20 minutes drive from the City Centre, and there isn’t really much in the local area, so it isn’t a great destination, but as a stop-over when spending most of the time with family, it worked well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will-HE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just back from attending a family party for which we stayed overnight in this hotel. Good comfortable bed in a spacious room. Met the usual Premier Inn standard, basic but clean. Rooms nice and quiet considering alongside 2 main roads. Staff very friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast in the Table Table restaurant alongside but did eat at lunchtime when we arrived. Food good at a reasonable price and smiley staff.

Located on main junction of A47 with bus stops immediately outside with buses (X1 service) into Norwich every 30 minutes, which we used on the afternoon of our arrival to see the city centre with the xmas lights etc. Very impressed.

If you can avoid the RIP OFF TAXIS. The party was in a nearby village and different companies charged us for their supposed mileage from Norwich centre (additional 8 miles) to the hotel and on to our destination, a total of 15 miles for a 7 mile journey.

We would use the Hotel again but use the car or buses for our journeys.

Room Tip: First floor facing the carpark and the showground at the restaurant end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Rooms are basic but comfortable. Self-service at breakfast was fine, but that at dinner was hopeless; we waited 40mins. for a bowl of soup and a sandwich. Complained to manager and cost of meal cancelled.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
11.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
14.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
10.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
Address: Dereham Road | Longwater Interchange, New Costessey, Norwich NR5 0TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norwich
#6 Family Hotel in Norwich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get straight to the heart of the action with Premier Inn Hotel Norwich (Showground/A47), right next to Norfolk's exhibition and events centre. And with great transport links nearby, you'll also be well placed to explore business and leisure destinations around Norfolk. Catch the main event at Norfolk Showground. Throw mortar boards at the University of East Anglia. Or zip into Norwich and discover the Cathedral, Castle, shops and cafes in its vibrant city centre. After a busy day, unwind with a hearty meal in our restaurant and relax in your extra-comfy bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich (Showground / a47) Hotel Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing