We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money with easy access to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money with easy access to the city”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We've stayed here twice now and will continue to do so. Exceptional value for money, with a really comfortable room and nice surroundings. Easy access to the City Centre and Premier Inn also pay for your car parking which worked out at over £9 for our stay - making it even more value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubdaddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    459
    116
    52
    26
See reviews for
311
559
80
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money especially given its central location in the city. We parked in the public St Andrew's car park which is free for Premier guests and just a short walk to the hotel, fine for us with just an overnight bag, maybe a bit of a drag if you have heavy luggage. The hotel has lovely beds in large rooms with very good facilities and the staff are very, very friendly, helpful and professiional. We had a good night out in the city centre and came back to the hotel and had a couple of nightcaps in the bar. We did have a bit of an incident with some people who decided to make an awful lot of noise in the corridor outside our room and then bang on our door at 4.00am in the morning, not the Premier Hotel's fault at all, it seems some people have no respect or manners. When we mentioned this to the receptionist the following morning after breakfast - which was lovely and plentiful - she immediately refunded the cost of our rooms with grace and charm. Fantastic, didn't expect it at all. Well done Premier for having a Good Night Sleep policy, we hadn't even mentioned a refund and for a hotel to do that for something that they didn't really have any control over is absolutely first rate. Congratulations Premier, we'll definitely stay in your hotels again and definitely recommend you to friends and family. Brilliant!

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel should be a little quieter as the main road is a busy one even in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthEastDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best Premier Inn that I have stayed in. The service is excellent, good food, clean rooms, friendly service all of the time. I visit Norwich with work once a month and always stay here, it is within walking distance of city centre, close to the lanes, great to take a walk around. The hotel is not full of white van drivers which is also nice. The bar area has a television which shows football , news etc. also good pub just outside hotel on right that has nice real ale and home cooked food if you fancy it. Overall the staff are excellent, great location and good price. Also car park at st Andrews next to hotel is free if you give car park ticket to staff at reception.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel on 4th March. We parked in the St. Andrews car park (as recommended by the hotel - it does not have its own car park). The car park is a few minutes away and is FREE to Premier Inn guests. Take a ticket on entering the car park as usual then on departing the hotel ask the receptionist to validate your ticket. This then needs to be put into the pay machine at the car park before you get into your car for further validation. It must then, finally be put into the car park ticket machine at the exit barrier. We didn't have much luggage, so the short walk from the car park was not a problem for us. It could be difficult if you had a lot of heavy luggage though.

We had a twin room at the rear of the hotel on the first floor. The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We did find that the soundproofing wasn't brilliant. The people in the next room came back in the early hours. We could clearly hear them laughing and talking in their room. On top of this, there were some people shouting and arguing at the rear of the hotel during the night (I know this is not something the hotel can do much about though).

The bar in the early evening was pleasant. Two large glasses of wine cost just over £10. Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Breakfast choices in the morning were plentiful.

All in all, a great budget hotel in city centre location with helpful staff (receptionist was able to give us on foot and driving directions). Shame about the soundproofing, but perhaps the people next door were just particularly noisy. Would I recommend the hotel. Yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We felt we could rely on Premier Inns to get a couple of good night's sleep in comfortable beds a good shower and hearty breakfast and they came up trumps on every point. All the staff were friendly and courteous. It's a TINY pain having to park in St Andrew's car park but PI pay for it so can't really complain it's just if you've got a lot to carry which we hadn't. Breakfast choice was good and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Excellent place to stay 5 min walk in to city ideal location clean comfortable rooms and friendly knowledgeable staff food in the restaurant was very good and well priced everywhere was clean and tidy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

One of the best Travel Inns in which I've stayed, and I've stayed in a lot over the years!

Brilliant receptionist (3rd year Uni Student studying English) who had a wealth of knowledge about the Uni, the city, and anything else we needed to know, especially how safe and friendly it was in the area.

Room was spotless and very comfortable.

Parking - a modern, well-lit multi-storey with 24 hour security - was just 50 yeards from the hotel and, as djmathu reports, there was 12 hours free parking during the day, if required.

My son had the continental breakfast and said it wasn't brilliant, though this could have been a one off or his personal perception, and you could always eat out at a coffee shop for the same, or less, money.

We booked this hotel for about £20, which was exceptional, and I'd pay approx £60-£70 if I was staying on company business; not certain of the normal price.

But, just to make sure she gets the credit, the girl on the desk that evening was ace!

Room Tip: Book the £20ish deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.8 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Address: Duke Street, Norwich NR3 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#4 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#7 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the heart of historic Norwich with Premier Inn Hotel Norwich City Centre (Duke Street). Whether you're looking for arts and culture, shopping and shows, or are here for work, you'll find us a great place to start. Marvel at the cloisters of Norwich Cathedral, or uncover the city's history at the Castle Museum. Treat all your senses with a wander around Norwich's traditional market. Catch some drama or comedy at the Theatre Royal. Then unwind in our tasty restaurant and relax in your extra-comfy bed.Chargeable off-site at St Andrews multi-storey car park which is a short distance from the hotel at a discounted rate of £4 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel Norwich
Norwich Premier Inn
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing