We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic meal in lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caistor Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caistor Hall Hotel
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Preston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic meal in lovely setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went for meal after buying a voucher from groupon, but we would have happily paid full price. The service was excellent, the house wine superb and the food was exciting and a bit intertesting but most importantly tasted amazing! Our deal was only for two courses, but we had desserts too at full price, which was still very reasonable. We had lovely views of the gardens from the dining room, which was very romantic and the chandelers were a lovely touch. We had read through the menus in the library and it was a lovely relaxed evening with no sense of being rushed. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    64
    36
    34
    55
See reviews for
71
97
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have just got back from a family wedding and this is the first time I have put a hotel on trip advisor. The website looks fabulous (don't they always) but the reality was somewhat different. Given the price I thought we were in for really lovely and luxurious stay but we weren't. The toiletries in the bathroom was to say the least dissapointing. The shower in the bath was a plastic throw back to the 70's and was fixed to the wall. The trick was to try and shower and avoid getting scalded when someone turned the cold water on. The whole bathroom need an urgent upgrade NOW. The beds were not the largest and being 6ft 3 I found out the hard way. Also the plastic mattress cover underneath aided the weight loss programme.... not comfortable at all. They also have cracks in the ceiling and wall also there is not fridge or minibar available. The rooms are dated but quaint. What was the most dissapointing is that when you book a room here please be aware that you are only booking the room. I booked 2 other rooms for my daughters when checking out they tried to charge them extra money for 2 fold up beds and an extra cot. I wouldn't mind but I told them of the requirement when when we booked. Then to surprise my daughter was charged for an extra £65 which was a joke. Thankfully the accomm manager sorted this out. The wedding itself was fantastic but the seating of the guest was somewhat cramped and I was also disappointed in the level of catering at the reception and the buffet later where we were left feeling hungry.
We arrived for breakfast at 0900hrs to find just continental options available. We then had to wait whilst the staff sorted themselves out and got the breakfast sorted. Not good for a 5* venue. As a wedding venue it was nice but this place could be so so so much more with some investment. To compare and contrast this with a top 5* I stayed in last year for a slightly cheaper price I was extremely disappointed, and felt we were in a 3*. Whoever graded this 5* shoud go back and have a look at it and also themselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dissapointed190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaistorHall, Manager at Caistor Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Caistor Hall Hotel feel that it is important to point out that our hotel has not been graded as a 5-star establishment, therefore the reference to the grading in this review is incorrect. We currently have no official star rating however would rate ourselves as a luxury 3-star hotel.

Caistor Hall Hotel is a Grade II listed property and as with any property of this age is in constant need of minor repair. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and work hard to sympathetically maintain the appearance of the property without damaging any of its beautiful period features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for a friends wedding at the weekend. The grounds were beautiful as is the building. The whole day was fabulous & was enjoyed by everyone.
The only gripe we have is that we stayed in a room for the night & there were a few things that we not up to scratch. The room we were in (422 I think) had no windows, only a small velux roof window. This would not of bothered us at all but the window wouldn't open at all, which was annoying on a hot stuffy day. Also I noticed that there was no blind on this window. Hence when the sun came up at dawn I was woken.
There were a few random holes in the wall in the bathroom, have no idea what they were about. But the bed was big and comfy.
Also we thought the breakfast was way overpriced. It was £10 each for breakfast which consisted of cereals and milk to help yourself to and also a help yourself fry up which was in metal trays. Nothing special at all considering we get a better breakfast at Macintosh's for £4.75!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank english86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Just needed to express my sincere thanks to the amazing staff at Caistor Hall and the fabulous venue.
My Daughter was married at Caistor Hall on the 14th May 2011. The Hotel has a 'one Bride' per day policy and they made everyone feel so special. The whole team are so professional and I would like to thank them on behalf of the 200+ guest's for making this such an amazing day and night. Nothing was too much trouble and nobody could do more than all the staff did for us and our wedding party.

Although I would not usually single out individuals, as it was truly a team effort, I would just like to say a huge thanks to Sarah & Nicki the wedding co-ordinators, Master Chef Dan whose food was fantastic and Stephen (toast master) you all made sure that everything ran so smoothly. The rooms were excellent for decor, warmth and comfort and the amazing grounds and ambience of Casitor Hall is perfect wedding venue.

Some of the reviews that have been posted did not in anyway reflect on our own experience and I would recommend to anyone the Wedding package that Caistor Hall can offer. Go along & talk to the team and make your own mind up. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend as a getaway for Valentines and had a lovely stay.

We dinned in the restaurant which produced superb food and excellent service.

The room was spacious and very clean with all the trimmings. The 4 poster bed was a good touch. Only down side was the radiator was on full and we couldn't work out how to turn it down. But I'm sure if I could have been bothered to ask the kind staff they would've sorted it for us. It wasn't a big problem.

Enjoy your stay if you go here, which you definately should if you're looking for a well priced break away!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andysim999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A friendly very individual hotel with luxury rooms at an excellent midweek price. If you want bland chains this is not for you, not packaged like a chain and all the nicer for it. A great booked lined library area with a roaring fire adds to the ambiance. Found my first rooms central heating a little noisy for me so was quickly moved to another room without any fuss or bother. Cooked breakfast is an extra charge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandIWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed at Caistor Hall Hotel on the night of Wednesday 19 January 2011.
First impressions of the hotel were that the establishment was ‘slightly’ run down on the outside, with a car park that could do with a little 'tidying'.
On entering the hotel, my first impressions were changed. Staff polite and very welcoming.
After checking in, I was asked if I would be dining in the restaurant, having read mixed reviews from this website, I thought I would try the experience and booked myself a table in the restaurant.
Found my room very easily, from the directions given to me by the receptionist.
Room to my satisfaction of high levels. Having stayed in many hotels around Norwich/UK, I felt Caistor Hall had a nice ambience, cleanliness and environment within my personal room and around the hotel.
Upon arriving in the restaurant, I found it rather busy. This concerned me a little, but the waiter still attended to me efficiently and promptly.
I ordered a main course of Pan Fried Duck Breast. The duck had been cooked to perfection. It was served with a parsnip moose & greens. The moose was delicate and light. I wouldn't usually order dessert, but after mains, felt I needed to try the sweets they had on offer. For dessert I enjoyed a Passion fruit Soufflé, which was also smooth and delicious, with the white chocolate ice cream complimenting the dish fabulously.
Overall, I feel my stay at Caistor Hall Hotel, was a success.
All though the hotel is a little rough around the edges, the fine dining experience praised the hotel, to make it one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
I would recommend this hotel to any friend, client or anonymous person.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.4 mi away
The Oaklands Hotel
The Oaklands Hotel
#22 of 50 in Norwich
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
639 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caistor Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caistor Hall Hotel

Property: Caistor Hall Hotel
Address: Stoke Road, Norwich NR14 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caistor Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caistor Hall Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel located on the fringe of the 'Fine City' of Norwich in secluded surroundings. The village of Caistor St Edmund is a wonderful reflection of the idyllic peaceful backdrop that Norfolk country life has to offer, with its imposing classical Georgian front and 30 acres of woodland and private gardens, Caistor Hall Hotel is the ideal venue for any occasion. Caistor Hall Hotel offers the perfect setting for your chosen event with 21 bedrooms and a variety of function rooms. The hotel hosts many events from your traditional dressed wedding to private dinners, and business events including conferences, seminars and private functions. Caistor Hall hosts a popular restaurant offering a fantastic A la Carte menu along with a Menu du Jour and daily specials. Bar food, Lunch and Afternoon Teas are available daily to both residents and non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caistor Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caistor Hall Norwich
Caistor Hall Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing