We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Caistor Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caistor Hall Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have been using Caistor Hall for weekly meetings over the last three months. From day one the staff were without exception interested in ensuring we were given the fullest support the Hotel could provide. Nothing is to much trouble, curtious, polite and sincere are words to sum up the staff I have met so far. All this with a wonderful buidling and grounds, we look forward to a long relationship. Phil Burton Director Consultant BNI Norfolk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

My daughter held her wedding at Caistor Hall in September for 70 guests to the wedding ceremony and breakfast and 100 guests in the evening. We cannot praise enough the first class service we got from the extremely friendly and efficient staff. The venue is perfect as they only hold one wedding a day and we were able to decorate and use all the beautiful ground floor rooms in the hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful towards us and our guests. The food was delicious and served very promptly. We carefully chose bedrooms on the first floor for our wedding party which have beautiful views over the lawns and very comfortable beds. The cooked breakfast the following day was excellent. I would certainly recommend Caistor Hall as it is a beautiful hotel which, although it would benefit from some redecoration, is still very comfortable and welcoming with friendly staff and excellent food.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor, in particular Rooms 401 and 402 are large with beautiful views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As a business traveller it was my first stay at Caistor Hall , despite having read some poor reviews. Overall, I cannot fault my stay , having had a warm welcome on arrival , a room with a four poster, extremely comfortable bed , excellent quality food and wonderful staff who couldn’t have been more helpful.
I was impressed with the room rate and level of service and I will most certainly be staying again and recommend it to my fellow business travellers who visit Norwich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liga l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I attended a wedding at this venue on August bank holiday. The service from the start was extremely bad, for 150+ guests attending and to have only 4-5 staff to cover the reception, 3 bars and marque it was unacceptable. The sit down 3 course meal took 3 hours to serve all courses and the bar had nothing but exspensive bottles of wine (could not buy a glass) and watered down beer.
The rooms of the venue are worn and old. Stained carpets, marked walls, little comforts.
For anybody wanting to hold their wedding here I would like to warn you that you will be very dissapointed. Poor service for £110 a night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Idiotabroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband stayed here after being parted for 6 months on tour and we had a lovely time! Bed was huge with a jacuzzi bath in the room! bedding and curtains and towels were immaculate and very comfy!

We only had breakfast here which was very good except they put us so close to the only other couple eating breakfast that we almost sat on each others laps so finished breakfast early as was un_comfortable!

We asked for an ice bucket in room which was provided and chocs too!! Receptionist was polite and very helpful when I rang for booking.

Will def be staying again when he returns home in January 2013.

We stayed in May 2011

Room Tip: we booked a executive suite with jacuzzi in room and was so luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The building definitely has character and looks quite classy. The receptionist was polite and friendly. We were told the bar was open from 11am to 11pm but when we went down just after 5pm the shutters were down and there was no one around. We came down again later and were told bar meals finish at 2pm so we had to eat a la carte. After eating we went back to our room. The room was a bit dated, had stains on the carpet, shower was really small and the lino floor was peeling up. Staying in the luxury superior room which is the most expensive in the hotel we expected white fluffy towels but got worn out white towel which were frayed all the way round.The Jacuzzi on the other hand was lovely and we had a big flat screen t.v with freesat. When we decided to turn in we found the four poster bed to be uncomfortable, lumpy pillows, I fell into a dip in the mattress and every time my husband moved the bed would creak and wake him up. We went down for breakfast at 8:30. The coffee and hot water was cold, we had to ask for more milk as they had ran out ,they forgot our toast order. Everyone else got their breakfast and we were still waiting for our toast. When it eventually came it wasn't even hot. A couple beside us ordered poached egg and got scrambled.When leaving our room I checked under the table to make sure we hadn't left anything behind and found a milk pot and part of someones toothpaste box. (They obviously didn't clean properly between guests.Verdict:- breakfast was a sham, room wasn't worth £110 per night, cleaner and better service in a premier inn, only good thing was having a jacuzzi in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellybean872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We went for a meal as we had had our doing receptn there 18 years ago. The place has been upgraded since, and though still a little tired in places, it is a nice relaxed place, which is what drew us there all those years ago... But the food far surpassed our expectations, it was really sub, and the rice was excellent too. They forgot to add the wine to the bill and when I had queried the cheapness of the bill and they realised the mistake it was put on the house... Really great evening.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank StuRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,721 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,196 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caistor Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caistor Hall Hotel

Address: Stoke Road, Norwich NR14 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £78 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caistor Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caistor Hall Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel located on the fringe of the 'Fine City' of Norwich in secluded surroundings. The village of Caistor St Edmund is a wonderful reflection of the idyllic peaceful backdrop that Norfolk country life has to offer, with its imposing classical Georgian front and 30 acres of woodland and private gardens, Caistor Hall Hotel is the ideal venue for any occasion. Caistor Hall Hotel offers the perfect setting for your chosen event with 21 bedrooms and a variety of function rooms. The hotel hosts many events from your traditional dressed wedding to private dinners, and business events including conferences, seminars and private functions. Caistor Hall hosts a popular restaurant offering a fantastic A la Carte menu along with a Menu du Jour and daily specials. Bar food, Lunch and Afternoon Teas are available daily to both residents and non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caistor Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caistor Hall Norwich
Caistor Hall Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing