We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, unhelpful, and not interested in the needs of young children” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caistor Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caistor Hall Hotel
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
xxx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude, unhelpful, and not interested in the needs of young children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

We went to stay for a family wedding. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Our childrens needs were ignored and they failed to deliver our room service at all or listen to any of our problems e.g. rooms dangerously hot for young children. Once we complained our letters were ignored until we chased them and even then they refused to acknowledge our views as they already had been paid! Would never stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xxx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    64
    35
    33
    54
See reviews for
69
94
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This is a great hotel to stay at and a refreshing change from a chain. I regularly stay at hotels and I can judge a good one within 5 minutes, and this is one. This has all the ingredients: quiet comfortable rooms with classic furniture (antiques?), shuttered windows, all the bits/mod cons (flat screen, WiFi etc), endless hot water, really thick fluffy towels, staff who know how to look after you, and fantastic food, and I mean fantastic - I've eaten at this hotel many times and have always been impressed. Staying there is a real pleasure. If you like chain hotels or like ones with stainless steel bare wood and chrome this will not be for you, but if you seek out classic hotels that let you just enjoy the experience then this is for you. If you're looking for fault (and you can in every hotel) stay away and leave it for the rest of us. There aren't that many classic hotels of this type left - if you're visiting Norwich, I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICook30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

This was our first trip to Norwich, I was expected to enjoy the city which we did but unfortunately the hotel was, to put it mildly, extremely tired. If one looks at it from a distance, it is marvelous but when one gets closer it was very dirty, the paint flaking off everywhere. Our bedroom was very basic with heavily stained carpet, cracked wall, electrical sockets not working, hairdryer missing, the bartroom ill equiped and the curtains were fading and torn. What a sight!!!!! The staff tried their best. I would not in any way blame them for the state of the building but if the management does not pull their socks up the business will be going down the tube. I will not recommending the hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank halifaxman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Okay, I've seen the other reviews and i was filled with dread. I booked before looking and was really rather scared about what I was going to find. We got there and the outside of the hotel was, well, the best description would be tired. Paint flaking off the windows, it needed a good all round paint and scrub.

Got to reception and we couldn't check in early as we were promised. Not the best of starts.

Got to the room in the end and, maybe it was just because I was expecting something from a horror movie, but the room was okay. It was clean, bright, nice enough view, the bathroom was a bit old hat and needed a bit of a tidy up but all in all it was okay.

Okay, it was pretty expensive and it's no Babington House but if you're going there for a wedding I would recommend it rather than having to go off site to a new hotel in the early hours.

If I was staying for pleasure I'd either choose a Marriott or something similar for much less than the £140 we paid or I'd go for something really luxurious.

But all in all, it wasn't a disaster.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schuey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

The only plus point was the staff were nice.
The room bore no resemblance to the photo on the website.
We left within the hour.
We often stay at hotels and this was our very worst experience.
£140 for a so called ' superior room'
breakfast not included.
Our advice would be to AVOID

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carole00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding that was being held there,there was five of us,myself,my wife,five year old daughter,three year old son and seven month old son so we booked a family room which contained a double bed and two single beds for the children.
Upon check out we found out we had to pay £10 extra for each of the single beds.I was under the impression that a family room might mean just that,a bed for mum and dad and two beds for children.
We also had no hot water for our showers for approx.four hours and the breakfast was late being put out.
Not really what you need with two small children and a baby.This hotel has a lovely picture on it's website which is nothing like the shabby looking site that needs some money spending on it to restore it to the fantasy picture on the website.
All in all it reminded me of a modern day Fauly Towers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rabbitSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.4 mi away
The Oaklands Hotel
The Oaklands Hotel
#22 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caistor Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caistor Hall Hotel

Property: Caistor Hall Hotel
Address: Stoke Road, Norwich NR14 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caistor Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caistor Hall Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel located on the fringe of the 'Fine City' of Norwich in secluded surroundings. The village of Caistor St Edmund is a wonderful reflection of the idyllic peaceful backdrop that Norfolk country life has to offer, with its imposing classical Georgian front and 30 acres of woodland and private gardens, Caistor Hall Hotel is the ideal venue for any occasion. Caistor Hall Hotel offers the perfect setting for your chosen event with 21 bedrooms and a variety of function rooms. The hotel hosts many events from your traditional dressed wedding to private dinners, and business events including conferences, seminars and private functions. Caistor Hall hosts a popular restaurant offering a fantastic A la Carte menu along with a Menu du Jour and daily specials. Bar food, Lunch and Afternoon Teas are available daily to both residents and non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Caistor Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caistor Hall Norwich
Caistor Hall Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing