We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - would recommend!”
Review of Caistor Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caistor Hall Hotel
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel - would recommend!”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend as a getaway for Valentines and had a lovely stay.

We dinned in the restaurant which produced superb food and excellent service.

The room was spacious and very clean with all the trimmings. The 4 poster bed was a good touch. Only down side was the radiator was on full and we couldn't work out how to turn it down. But I'm sure if I could have been bothered to ask the kind staff they would've sorted it for us. It wasn't a big problem.

Enjoy your stay if you go here, which you definately should if you're looking for a well priced break away!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andysim999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    67
    39
    35
    58
See reviews for
79
101
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A friendly very individual hotel with luxury rooms at an excellent midweek price. If you want bland chains this is not for you, not packaged like a chain and all the nicer for it. A great booked lined library area with a roaring fire adds to the ambiance. Found my first rooms central heating a little noisy for me so was quickly moved to another room without any fuss or bother. Cooked breakfast is an extra charge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandIWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed at Caistor Hall Hotel on the night of Wednesday 19 January 2011.
First impressions of the hotel were that the establishment was ‘slightly’ run down on the outside, with a car park that could do with a little 'tidying'.
On entering the hotel, my first impressions were changed. Staff polite and very welcoming.
After checking in, I was asked if I would be dining in the restaurant, having read mixed reviews from this website, I thought I would try the experience and booked myself a table in the restaurant.
Found my room very easily, from the directions given to me by the receptionist.
Room to my satisfaction of high levels. Having stayed in many hotels around Norwich/UK, I felt Caistor Hall had a nice ambience, cleanliness and environment within my personal room and around the hotel.
Upon arriving in the restaurant, I found it rather busy. This concerned me a little, but the waiter still attended to me efficiently and promptly.
I ordered a main course of Pan Fried Duck Breast. The duck had been cooked to perfection. It was served with a parsnip moose & greens. The moose was delicate and light. I wouldn't usually order dessert, but after mains, felt I needed to try the sweets they had on offer. For dessert I enjoyed a Passion fruit Soufflé, which was also smooth and delicious, with the white chocolate ice cream complimenting the dish fabulously.
Overall, I feel my stay at Caistor Hall Hotel, was a success.
All though the hotel is a little rough around the edges, the fine dining experience praised the hotel, to make it one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
I would recommend this hotel to any friend, client or anonymous person.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Where do we begin to tell you about how amazing Caistor Hall is and how fabulous the staff are.
We had our wedding there on the 15 Oct 2010, Only one Bride per day and they make you feel soo special.
A huge thanks to Sophie the wedding co-ordinator and Master Chef Dan the food was fantastic (next time Dan you'll win master Chef) As for gentleman Mark (toast master) what a wonderful guy, you made sure that everything ran so smoothly. Notthing was too much trouble.
Nobody could do more than all the staff did for us and our wedding party.
All the rooms were excellent for decor, warmth and comfort.
The grounds and ambience of Casitor Hall Perfect for anyones wedding and excellent value for money.
What more could we say except that we have read some of the bad reviews and really really don't understand that they could possibly be writting about Caistor Hall Norwich. A thought comes to mind that some people want something for nothing and complain about anything.
THANK YOU ONE AND ALL FOR MAKING OUR WEDDING SO SO SPECIAL.
Colin and Gill

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillmartins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I could comment on how horrible the decor, food and service was in our very brief stay, but all I need comment is how the owner seemd to leer after our underage daughter. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 186402Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

we had our wedding yesterday at this hotel and can truly say we had the time of our lives. from the moment we booked this 9 months ago the service and assistance from this hotel has been fantastic. the members of staff at our wedding were very profesional and at the same time made you feel very welcome as if they had known you for years, particulary matt and sarah, these two people really know how to provide you with that personal touch. the food was just amazing as arrived lovely and hot and was wonderful in taste, compliments to all the chefs on such a lovely tasting menu. the presentation from the start of the day right through to the ebd was immaculate with great care and attention being taken at every step to ensure our special day was as we expected, the down side to this report is only to say that on the price paid for our day it would have been nice to maybe have seen a small complimentry bottle of wine or chapaigne in our room, it felt that once the day was over they switched of from paying us attention, also at the end of a 12 hour exhausting day we were refused a cup of coffee to wind down with a tew remaining guests, this would have been a perfect end to a perfect day if a little more thought had gone into our request, having said that this truly is a wonderful place for any wedding, with just a couple of tweeks hee and there we could have given 100% reating but feel honesty is best and give it 90%. hope this helps future views.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drakey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We had our wedding at Caistor Hall in September 2010 and we could not fault it at all.

The wedding co-ordinator Sarah made us feel special from the first time we met. Yes they do a lot of weddings at Caistor Hall but there is a reason for that!! It is a fantastic venue for a wedding. They only do 1 wedding a day whereas some places you go have more than 1 and we were able to have different rooms for different parts of the wedding instead of having to ask our guests to vacate the room so they could get it ready for the evening.

All of the staff were brilliant. They could not do enough for us. Every staff member was helpful and a lot of our guests made the same comment.

Compliments to the chef, Dan Savage, because the food was lovely. They managed to cater for a large group of people with no fuss and all of the food was hot and delicious.

The bridal suite was also everything you could ask for. The huge four poster bed was extremely comfortable.

We have already been to 5 other friends weddings this year and this venue was by far and away the best (even if we do say so ourselves!!). We would recommend it to anyone.

Thanks Caistor Hall for making our day fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpw4tts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,652 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,162 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caistor Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caistor Hall Hotel

Property: Caistor Hall Hotel
Address: Stoke Road, Norwich NR14 8QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caistor Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caistor Hall Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel located on the fringe of the 'Fine City' of Norwich in secluded surroundings. The village of Caistor St Edmund is a wonderful reflection of the idyllic peaceful backdrop that Norfolk country life has to offer, with its imposing classical Georgian front and 30 acres of woodland and private gardens, Caistor Hall Hotel is the ideal venue for any occasion. Caistor Hall Hotel offers the perfect setting for your chosen event with 21 bedrooms and a variety of function rooms. The hotel hosts many events from your traditional dressed wedding to private dinners, and business events including conferences, seminars and private functions. Caistor Hall hosts a popular restaurant offering a fantastic A la Carte menu along with a Menu du Jour and daily specials. Bar food, Lunch and Afternoon Teas are available daily to both residents and non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Caistor Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caistor Hall Norwich
Caistor Hall Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing