We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Such a shame..

I really love this pub, been coming in for a couple of months but really disappointed that there... read more

Reviewed 18 November 2018
897kyler
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Traditional Pub

A really good local. The Whalebone is a multi-roomed pub encompassing bars, an outside courtyard... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
Tony M
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Read all 36 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Norwich
from US$15.67
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
23
4
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
4
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub function room half pint selection of beers alehouse chap
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We hired the conservatory at the back for my husbands 40th Birthday and it was just perfect!! We had our own sound system, tv to play photos through and an outside space if we needed it. The Landlord and staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Perfect for a family gathering as younger children have use of toilets off the main function room, so do not have to venture into the main pub. A great little venue, with a great atmosphere that we will definitely be visiting again soon!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank emmaflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to know that your Birthday Party was a great success and that our facilities suited the occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Hired the Malthouse room for my hubby 50th , great little place,staff were great & could not fault the place, we would definitely recommend it ..!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank _lorraine_harwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Malthouse facilities for your celebration.
Thank you so much for this very kind review it is important to us to have positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards from all at the Whalebone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

From the outside it looks small but don't be fooled. It's got seating rooms at the back with big tv's to watch footie and a decent sized beer garden at the back (only spoilt by the smokers). Only started to use this pub recently as I've moved back to the area and has a great atmosphere and always fighting for a table during busy evenings. Worth a try!!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and the atmosphere at the Whalebone having moved back to the area and as you rightly say behind the small front entrance there are a number of excellent facilities . It is said that the Whalebone is a "Tardis" a "Little gem" and "Where a traditional pub meets modern wine bar" and we look forward to sharing this experience with all who visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Fantastic pub. Perfect for an evening with friends. Outside heating is brilliant as I have smoker friends so I am not left alone inside for most of the evening.
Atmosphere is always spot on and staff always smiling.
Keep it up

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Happydays389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent visit to the Whalebone. It is so re assuring that our constant endeavours to create a good experience for our customers is recognised and we are delighted that your visit was an enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

I went to the Whalebone last night and paid for a couple of glasses of red wine on my credit card. I was charged £1 for the payment because the wine cost less than £10 (just) even though the payment was contactless. As contactless payments are for small amounts I find it hard to believe the £1 charge is justified and won't be returning.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank chaletlourider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2015

Thank you for the comment regarding a minimum spend charge on credit cards used at the Whalebone. We have been reviewing this policy and can confirm that that as from 1st July this will no longer apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews