We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
Ideal place for a catch up with friends

Couldn't have been better. After ordering our first drinks at the bar, the waiters/waitresses were... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2023
Tom C
via mobile
Welcoming and Accommodating

I just wanted to find somewhere to watch Saturday night football and this venue was a great find... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2022
Garrett P
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Read all 51 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
33
7
3
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
7
3
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room great pub landlord alehouse pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Always well kept ales on and a good selection of lagers too. Brilliant garden/smoking area and atmosphere in general.

Tip - Buy a pint of pork scratching's and you get a free Labrador until they run out

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank LawrenceG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Whalebone and Harvey the Labrador
will be delighted to see you again soon . Oh ! don't forget to top up with pork scratchings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I recently had my leaving party at the Whalebone and was so impressed! A lovely back room for a party and fantastic and friendly staff. It was a brilliant evening from start to finish and I would highly recommend it to others.

There is plenty of space, excellent service at the bar and I was told the bbq was delicious (even though I unfortunately was too focused on mingling with friends and family to try it myself)!

Another part of this pub that I like is how friendly and welcoming the local drinkers are. I went in 3 times around my party date to set things up or collect items, and on all occasions I got chatting to very friendly and interesting people. This made the pub seem even more likeable to me, and that anyone is welcome to join.

On my return to the UK I will definitely be going back to visit and I will be keeping in touch with the pub whilst I am on my travels. Overall a fantastic experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Tasha90x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The Whalebone is a proper pub, rooted in the community and welcoming to all. Well managed, with great service and a clever balance of traditional pub and modern bar, catering to beer drinkers and wine drinkers alike. Excellent covered and heated garden with table service. Best pub in the area.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Wormple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for your glowing review of the Whalebone. It is so rewarding for us to have such complimentary remarks relating to parts of the business at which we try so very hard to get right for the benefit of our customers and we are so pleased that you had a pleasurable experience.
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We arrived at opening, the barmaid was friendly and informative. Had a Humpty Dumpty Reedham Gold - lovely, but the Grain 316 was catching my eye. A sample soon arrived from the Landlord, I ordered a Pint shortly thereafter. A great space, good service and beer in top condition. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank theunyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Your happy experience is just what we love to hear. Thank you for taking the time to share this with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Called in tonight on way home - told they were closed for "new entrants" after 11pm.
Plenty of better choices locally - fat cat brewery tap or lord roseberry. Avoid this place. - seems to think it doesn't need customers....

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Norwichguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews