We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Review Highlights
Ideal place for a catch up with friends

Couldn't have been better. After ordering our first drinks at the bar, the waiters/waitresses were... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2023
Tom C
via mobile
Welcoming and Accommodating

I just wanted to find somewhere to watch Saturday night football and this venue was a great find... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2022
Garrett P
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Read all 52 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
34
7
3
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
7
3
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room great pub landlord alehouse pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

Friendly landlord, excellent disabled access, dog-friendly, one year old friendly, excellent service and excellent drinks!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank AngieA383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020

If you look in the front it seems tiny but there is lots of room at the back. There is a great selection of real ales and when we were there, table service was available. The toilets are very clean and modern too.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Chrisman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2020

What a nice pub, great atmosphere and big enough for everybody, there's a lovely outside area too, maybe not this time of year though, brrrr. I think they have just had some work done and a very good job they made of it. All round great pub,

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Thank you Bruce T for your excellent review of the Whalebone.
It so important for us to have feed back from our customers and to know that our efforts to create a friendly environment is appreciated by all those who visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

We popped down to the Whalebone on Saturday as the pub was having it yearly Oktoberfest Party. The place was very busy, I have some of the food which was good and we had 4 of the German beers on the pop up bar which we loved every one and the band outside was really good just wish they could have played later. Can’t wait for next...

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Chip1Butty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Hi Chip Butty
We are so glad you enjoyed our 4th Oktoberfest it really was a great success and we're told by many that it just gets better every year.
With all the hard work that goes into arranging such an event is so gratifying not only to see so many people having a great time but to get the feedback that they have.

So Prost! and let's look forward to next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

Cracking pub this ....north city is a real ale drinkers paradise and this is one of the gems....never had a bad pint in here..home made scotch eggs are fab...nothing not to like ..10/10

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank grofaz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike L, Owner at Whalebone Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Hi grofaz666V
Thank you so much for this excellent review of The Whalebone . Yes NR3 has become the buzz side of the City and we are delighted to be included in the places to visit. We are also pleased to be included once again in this years CAMRA GOOD BEER GUIDE.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews