We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norwich Hotel
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

booked this via the web without reading any reviews. then read the reviews. i think theyre exaggerated after spending 2 nights there. it could do with a face lift. but for the price and area its dead on. no noise issues staff were friendly. only blankets on the bed no duvet but i was glad of this coz the room was warm. could probably do with employing a maintenance person to give the place a wee touch up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    22
    47
    58
    76
See reviews for
10
58
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My partner booked this last minute as we decided to stay over in Norwich after travelling to watch Newcastle play. From pulling up outside we began to have doubts. The exterior really needs a revamp including the car park. Inside it was like stepping back in time 40 years. Borders and floral wallpaper! The lounge area looked like a granny's front room,only thing missing was the granny. We were handed a battered old TV remote control,and ordered to hand the key when leaving the hotel. If you like the retro look then this hotel is. A must. Old fashioned intercom system in the teak look headboard. Blankets on the bed..... No duvet..... On inspecting the bed, this was at least clean. If you moved round the room whilst watching TV you lost the signal. Mugs on the hostess tray would have suited better on a building site, def in need of a good bleach! Dirty dirty dirty. The carpet was a case of not standing on it with bare feet. What can I say that is positive... Good quality loo roll nice and warm in the bathroom, although not sure whether the nets were grey or just in need of a good wash. Staff were friendly although a mixed bunch. Stay here again.... For £60 a night not inc breakfast a big NO!! Had a night in jury's inn for £49 inc breakfast. Rip off at this Norwich hotel. Near to the football ground was maybe the only plus point. Sorry but honest review. Wish we had read previous comments. Faulty towers had nothing to worry about

Lorac58 worksop notte

Room Tip: Don't not at this hotel. Go across the road to the Stracey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you're looking for a hotel for a novelty Fawlty-Towers-esque experience without the enthusiasm and charisma of Basil Fawlty then this is the place for you!

Stayed here for business.

The exterior is very run down - like a looming butterscotch Angel Delight that should have been eaten several days ago.

The room was like something from the other side of the Berlin Wall circa 1960.

Taps in the bathroom did not match
Phone book was from 2007
Found a toenail under my bed

A collection of boy-racers across the road hindered my sleep further

On the plus side breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

So bad I checked out after my first night and got a full refund. Here's why:

Disabled facilities were unsafe - the shower stall was not sealed properly and the doors didn't fit, hence water all over floor, making it dangerous to step onto. The fixtures were either far too old to be safe, or fitted very badly.

Leaking pipes drip..drip..dripping from the rooms above or next door - one set of drips came after the toilet flushed (messy?) the other from a shower outlet.

Very loud squeaking floorboards in the hallway kept me awake during the night as very drunk and noisy people came back from nights out.....moreorless between the hours of 1 and 5am. yes, 5am. This is not the hotel's fault obviously, but the fact that you can hear everything as if you were sleeping in the corridor....well....that needs to be fixed.

At 3am, a drunk woman was banging on her room door unable to get in. She went on banging without success until I got up and went out of my room to ask her to stop.

The smell of cannabis was rich in the air, it had probably come in under my door through a gap, and even opening my window didn't make a difference. Not good.

All of these things are on top of the room, with its very sad and dirty carpet and furniture which looked like a 1970s hall of residence.
The TV was about a 10inch screen, which I couldn't see from the bed, and the kettle was half-full of water with a cupful of rust flakes in it from the element. There were other things, but to be honest they pale into insignificance when compared with the issues I've mentioned here.

I got to sleep at about 5am and slept til 8.30, which is when I went downstairs to cancel my booking.
You couldn't pay me to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: You want to choose a good room? Just don't choose ANY room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This hotel is hideous. The whole place is in disrepair and in desperate need of renovation. I was woken several times between 3 and 4am by loud shouting and banging of doors. It was very fightening and unpleasant. My bed was absolutely tiny and the covers were not clean (the sheets were thank goodness). I will never stay here again thank goodness.

Room Tip: My tip for travellers is to choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLcanada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel is well located for the centre of Norwich. It hasn't had a penny spent on it in years and it is very tired ! On the plus side the staff were friendly, the breakfast excellent and the room was clean. Overall fine for a one night stay but not any longer. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaddogsdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

I booked a nights stay here as it was one of the few available hotels within my company budget that offered free wifi in the rooms. This is pretty essential to me as i have to work and email from hotels for a few hours each day. I arrived at the hotel about 5pm and waited in line to check in. When i eventually got to the front of the queue, i was allocated a room, but when i asked about the wifi, was told you couldnt get it in the rooms. I pointed out that their blurb on late rooms stated it was, but then was told i must have been mistaken! After checking in my room, i went down to the bar (where there wasfree wifi), brought up the late rooms site and showed her what it said. She simply smiled and said dont blame me, blame the owners!!!

Anyway.... Wifi rant over. The room was a little cramped and in need of a spruce up. In fact the whole hotel needs modernising and decorating. I ate in the bar that night. The menu leaves a lot to be desired and there were only 5 or 6 options....all of the fast food, frozen, precooked variety. That said, the meals were not expensive at £8. Breakfast was ok, if a little on the greasy side

Generally speaking, this is what id class as an "any port in a storm" hotel. It was warm and clean, but there are many ways it needs to improve.

Im off to London area now.....wish me luck.

PS cant see why this hotel is classed as a conference centre???

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.5 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#29 of 50 in Norwich
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwich Hotel

Property: Norwich Hotel
Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England (Formerly Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Norwich Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich
Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing