We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like going back in time to th 70s”
Review of Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norwich Hotel
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Free car parking was ok, it seemed to have a lot of people loitering outside aimlessly which made me wonder if it rented some of its rooms to dhs, check in was quick and efficient and soon we where in a 1950s style lift to our level, when we exited the lift we where knocked back by the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor, we proceeded to our room to find a very dated 1970s style abode no duvets just clean sheets whith blankets the carpet had seen better days along with the wardrobe the bathroom was cleen and not too bad and the tv worked, we realised that the walls were a bit thin when we heard what sounded like someone in the throws of mad passion next door, this was a little embarrassing as we had our son with us! I took a trip to the bar and had a drink,the bar was ok and it reminded me of the bar in the sitcom faulty towers, all it needed was the major and manuel. In the morning the breakfast was good and the hotel has a 5 star food hygiene standard, the bed we had slept in the night before was probably the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in. in the foyer it had signs apologising for the disruption due to refurbishment....what refurbishment? Never saw any work taking place. Would I stay here again...NO! it is not a place I would like to stay at again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loloicaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

WARNING !!!! I AM WRITING THIS REVIEW AT 03:15 IN THE MORNING AFTER BEING KEPT UP ALL NIGHT WITH NOISES FROM TJE NEXT DOOR ROOM AND THE DOWNSTAIRS ROOM AND THE PASSAGE OUTSIDE. Hotel is very very dated and in a bad state of disrepair. Ceilings all patched up, cracked, damp patches. Place full of drunks or worse. Floorboards really creaky, can hear everyone, everywhere. Will I get any sleep tonight ? Im now worried about my car too ijcase it gets vandalised. Worse choice and worst hotel Ive ever stayed at :-( :-( :-( Why hasnt it been shut down yet with all thses horrid reviews ???
Signed, T.N from Ipswich, Suffolk.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicodemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had the misfortune to stay here last November 2012. The Hotel is terrible, run-down and frankly the quicker you can leave the better. The covers on the bed I would not give to Oxfam as they are thread bare. You would NOT stand on the carpets with bare feet! The Bathroom was beyond belief from a condition point of view. It would appear providing you obtain the correct "fire-certificates" you can set yourself up as a Hotel without belonging to any Hotel Body or Federation, regardless of the conditions you offer your customers. The only saviour being that you will never return and hopefully they will close due to lack of business!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room 17, was terrible, the carpet was disgusting, you was scared to take off your shoes in case you caught something. The shower head needed cleaning and was in danger of falling of the wall if you touched it. To get hot water to the bathroom we were advised to run the hot water tap for 5 minutes. The television did not work. The furniture in the bedroom was very old and chipped. The bed linen was clean but the beds have seen better days. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

An overnight business trip brought me here. Chosen as its five minutes from the train station and free wifi and the price for a night was around fifty pounds and more if you want breakfast. The room was comfortable and had two tvs and a good sized bath/shower room . Plenty of tea, coffee, towels and. It was all clean and tidy. The furnishings and decor look dated and perhaps from over ten or more years. That being said it had friendly enough evening staff and a small bar / restaurant I did not try. It's a short walk from a range of restaurants in Town. Happy to say its ok for a quick visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as i thought it looked good on line but was disappointed when i got there it was a cheap room and basic but was clean and comfortable so i cant complain really . The bar area was ok and comfy to i did get a bad drink as beer was not drinkable but the barman just exchanged it with no fuss so that was nice of him. Would i stay there again yes probably .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

booked this via the web without reading any reviews. then read the reviews. i think theyre exaggerated after spending 2 nights there. it could do with a face lift. but for the price and area its dead on. no noise issues staff were friendly. only blankets on the bed no duvet but i was glad of this coz the room was warm. could probably do with employing a maintenance person to give the place a wee touch up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#28 of 50 in Norwich
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwich Hotel

Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England (Formerly Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £51 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Norwich Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich
Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing