We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Sadly reiterate other reviews.
Biggest problem was actual structure of building. It sounded like herds of elephants trampling around the place at night. No duvets. Large number of rooms out of use. Breakfast of low quantity /quality. .Don't know an answer...probably demolish and change to housing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salopcamraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    41
    56
    69
See reviews for
9
49
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Free car parking was ok, it seemed to have a lot of people loitering outside aimlessly which made me wonder if it rented some of its rooms to dhs, check in was quick and efficient and soon we where in a 1950s style lift to our level, when we exited the lift we where knocked back by the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor, we proceeded to our room to find a very dated 1970s style abode no duvets just clean sheets whith blankets the carpet had seen better days along with the wardrobe the bathroom was cleen and not too bad and the tv worked, we realised that the walls were a bit thin when we heard what sounded like someone in the throws of mad passion next door, this was a little embarrassing as we had our son with us! I took a trip to the bar and had a drink,the bar was ok and it reminded me of the bar in the sitcom faulty towers, all it needed was the major and manuel. In the morning the breakfast was good and the hotel has a 5 star food hygiene standard, the bed we had slept in the night before was probably the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept in. in the foyer it had signs apologising for the disruption due to refurbishment....what refurbishment? Never saw any work taking place. Would I stay here again...NO! it is not a place I would like to stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loloicaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

WARNING !!!! I AM WRITING THIS REVIEW AT 03:15 IN THE MORNING AFTER BEING KEPT UP ALL NIGHT WITH NOISES FROM TJE NEXT DOOR ROOM AND THE DOWNSTAIRS ROOM AND THE PASSAGE OUTSIDE. Hotel is very very dated and in a bad state of disrepair. Ceilings all patched up, cracked, damp patches. Place full of drunks or worse. Floorboards really creaky, can hear everyone, everywhere. Will I get any sleep tonight ? Im now worried about my car too ijcase it gets vandalised. Worse choice and worst hotel Ive ever stayed at :-( :-( :-( Why hasnt it been shut down yet with all thses horrid reviews ???
Signed, T.N from Ipswich, Suffolk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicodemous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had the misfortune to stay here last November 2012. The Hotel is terrible, run-down and frankly the quicker you can leave the better. The covers on the bed I would not give to Oxfam as they are thread bare. You would NOT stand on the carpets with bare feet! The Bathroom was beyond belief from a condition point of view. It would appear providing you obtain the correct "fire-certificates" you can set yourself up as a Hotel without belonging to any Hotel Body or Federation, regardless of the conditions you offer your customers. The only saviour being that you will never return and hopefully they will close due to lack of business!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Room 17, was terrible, the carpet was disgusting, you was scared to take off your shoes in case you caught something. The shower head needed cleaning and was in danger of falling of the wall if you touched it. To get hot water to the bathroom we were advised to run the hot water tap for 5 minutes. The television did not work. The furniture in the bedroom was very old and chipped. The bed linen was clean but the beds have seen better days. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly. We will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

An overnight business trip brought me here. Chosen as its five minutes from the train station and free wifi and the price for a night was around fifty pounds and more if you want breakfast. The room was comfortable and had two tvs and a good sized bath/shower room . Plenty of tea, coffee, towels and. It was all clean and tidy. The furnishings and decor look dated and perhaps from over ten or more years. That being said it had friendly enough evening staff and a small bar / restaurant I did not try. It's a short walk from a range of restaurants in Town. Happy to say its ok for a quick visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as i thought it looked good on line but was disappointed when i got there it was a cheap room and basic but was clean and comfortable so i cant complain really . The bar area was ok and comfy to i did get a bad drink as beer was not drinkable but the barman just exchanged it with no fuss so that was nice of him. Would i stay there again yes probably .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 116 Thorpe Road, Norwich NR1 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel And Conference Centre
Lansdowne Hotel Norwich
Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing