We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend stay”
Review of Wensum Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wensum Guest House
Ranked #14 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Loved the room, but it was most definitely a UK room in terms of size (very small compared to most American rooms -- even the ones here in New York). The shared bathroom was kept spotless and I felt very comfortable using it. The parking is mostly adequate, but it can fill up and force you to park on the side street.

The only word of warning I have is that they lock up the building past 9 p.m., so do not try to check in past that time or you will need to call a number to retrieve your room key.

The breakfasts are delicious and made with fresh local ingredients. Best English breakfast ever.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucktheiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

stayed for 2 nights with my 2 boys had a family room with own bathroom it was clean tidy had tea/coffee in room lovely breakfast. walking distant into town or local pubs for dinner.
off road parking for enough cars.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank lynneHercock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is probably the best guest house we have ever stayed at!

Spotlessly clean, lovely decor, had all of the facilities we needed, great breakfast and Nick the owner was very attentive.

Full marks

Terry & June Genes

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was great but we also had a quick look at room 9 which seemed equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Really nice place and very friendly owners and staff. Great location for Norwich city centre and plenty of places to get food nearby. The room was fantastic and the whole place has a modern and well kept feel. Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast (which starts at 7:30) but we were able to still have cereal and toast. This will be my first choice if I'm working in Norwich again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Wensum to visit our daughter at UAE. It is just five minutes away from the university in the car. The room was a little compact, but fresh decor, comfortable bed, good shower, quiet,, and generous tea and coffee facility. There is plenty of space in the car park. Would recommend to anyone visiting Norwich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyandPerky099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have little experience of guest houses but our trip had 3 adults wanting to stay in the same room, this guest house offers 3 beds in a family room which was ideal for us, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, we were given a key so you can come and go as suits. Bathroom functional if not a bit basic but not an issue. Free parking and a 15min easy walk into norwich centre. Breakfast freshly cooked and nice size portion. I imagine this is a very high standard for guest houses.

Room Tip: Room 9 has two proper singles and a double. No bath if you have young children who don't like sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had one night here, room comfortable if a little small but as there was only me it didnt matter. small bathroom but functional. Overall a good place to stay. Would stay there again. Short walk to nearest cash point (Tesco express), a few takeaways in the area but the crowning jewel (in my opinion) was the fat cat public house down the next side street. Fantastic range of beers and ciders. A real ale paradise! I can see why its so busy even on a Thursday night. Ask the staff for directions etc for places to eat and drink. Lovely breakfast in the morning, perfect for soaking up the beer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Guest House

Address: 225 Dereham Road, Norwich NR2 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wensum Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly Bed and Breakfast, well located for all the attractions in Norwich. All our rooms are spacious and brand new with comfortable beds. We have 13 en-suite rooms and 8 rooms available on the ground floor. We have a large secure car park, and we're on a good bus route into the city centre and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wensum Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing