We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So near to the airport..very convenient...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Larches Guest House Norwich
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Friendley family run B+B, does exactly what you need without the premium hotel prices at the airport itself, especially if you travel regularly like me. I regularly have to take the 6:30 KLM red eye flight from Norwich and the drive time from this establishment to the airport is about 4.5 minutes and that may be exagerating at that time of morning.

Payment by credit card very conveneint for business travellers. There is nice pub across the way for food and a pint, free wifi with great speed.

Used many times, will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

My partner and I recently stayed here as we were visiting friends nearby so the location was ideal for us. Without wishing to sound 'snobby' we usually stay in 4* or plus hotels so a 3* guest house experience was a bit different for us.

The building is lovely although the outside could do with a lick of paint. Linda was very pleasant and welcoming but it would have been nice if we'd seen our room before she took our money.

The room was a good size but in need of some updating. The bed cover was drab and dingy and looked as though it had seen better days. The bedding underneath consisted of one top sheet and one bottom sheet. There were blankets in the cupboard but they didn't smell too fresh so I put up with being cold all night.

The furniture was rather shabby and dated and the television was a small portable. Freeview was available and free wi fi which was more than we were expecting and a nice bonus. Tea and coffee facilities were included. Breakfast was ok and cooked to order.

I'm really not sure what to expect from a 3* establishment. so I'm finding it hard to judge. I guess it's a matter of personal taste. If you want somewhere with a friendly chatty host that doesn't break the bank then this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I booked this for 2 young staff members - it was the only place we could get - Norwich was hosting a large conference and everywhere I tried was full - except The Larches! All seemed well on the phone - I also followed up my booking by email, explaining that I wasn't staying but was booking it for staff. On arrival the 2 young staff members were met by Linda who immediately strutted over to the calculator to work out how much their 3 night stay would be and demanded payment. When they explained that I would be paying - they were told that if they didn't pay within a few hours she would throw them out! Nice Welcome Linda! Of course this was extremely uncomfortable for them. When I arrived to settle the bill Linda seemed to find this amusing - stating that she'd caught people trying to escape out of the windows. I don't blame them - The rooms are dingy, unclean - someone elses used soap was left in the bath, spiders webs and dust are a plenty and the teaspoons and cups in the rooms were dirty on arrival and were not changed during their 3 night stay. One room in the attic is akin to Harry Potter's cupboard. The uniquely unfriendly Linda's attitude changed beyond recognition once she had been paid in cash - nothing like the colour of money to put a smile on someone's face. Avoid at all costs - there are lots of lovely clean places to stay - even for a last resort - find a camp site or a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank curlyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

What a wonderful guest house. It is run by a lovely couple who are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and well aquiped. Breakfast was cooked to order. What i also found good was that if you didnt wont to stay in at night time you could going into the lounge and watch TV. If you didnt wont to go out for tea and wonted to have a takeaway you could use the dining area, which was fantastic! Would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. A*

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I enjoyed my stay at The Larches so much that I intend to stay there again when next in need of accommodation in Norwich. The room I had was lovely and quiet at the back of the house, and I was able to relax with no trouble at all. I have stayed in many B&B's countrywide and the breakfast provided in this one was among the best ever. The people are so welcoming and, although extremely friendly, they do not intrude into one's personal space at all, as has sometimes been my experience. This couple run their establishment professionally and I cannot recommend them highly enough. I especially liked the way breakfast was 'cooked to order' when I was ready for it, by the man of the house! Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Wonderfully clean and the people there are very nice
lovely big rooms I'd love too stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NorwichJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Stayed here and had a lovely time. The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is great. Staff are very helpful. Would stay here again

Thank shazbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
3.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.5 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Larches Guest House Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Larches Guest House Norwich

Address: 345 Aylsham Road, Norwich NR3 2RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Hotel Class:3 star — The Larches Guest House Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Larches Guest House Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing