We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beeches Apartments
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 3 November 2012

A really good stay in 9g. Could be slightly cleaner but overall for price and quality of finish the apartment was lovely. A high quality finish just a shame that others who have stayed there before did not treat the place nicely.

Would book and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have stayed at and tried different mjb apartments, and you get what you pay for. The places have all been very dirty, found objects and used objects in drawers in wardrobes and on floor, I dont think they employ cleaners. There were beetles in bathroom, the rooms stink of mould and bathroom shower curtain covered in mould. Last visit we spent an hour trying to get a key code and get in, we would have had no chance without help of a neighbour. Also be warned the minute you book they have taken your payment, and will not refund you under any cirumstances, although you do not click on terms and conditions it takes it regardless, so the part where it says for info only is wrong.The staff are rude arrogant ignorant you name it. Save up and stay somewhere nicer, will never ever go to them again

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Not anything like the website would lead you to believe! Dank, really smelly, damp on walls, skirting board off, no wardrobes no bedside light, carpet a health hazard, no ensuite as advertised. We took one look and left. Still waiting some form of compensation. Completely substandard. I agree, con men run this organisation. Take Heed and AVOID at all costs!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clairb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at 9E Unthank Road on Saturday 23rd June.
Although we regularly use, and can appreciate, budget accommodation, we were shocked by this apartment!! We have lived in some shabby student houses in the past, but this left us disgusted.


Advertised as:

9E Unthank Road situated within large Georgian house. Double bedroom, Shower room, Lounge and dining area, Fully equipped kitchen, Free wifi, Free on-site parking, clean linen and towels, Non smoking.


After having waited well past check in time for a code (and having to phone up for this twice to enter the building), we entered the flat to find that somebody was already inside. This was completely unnerving, and considering that check out time was 6 hours earlier we thought it was unnecessary. A workman informed us that the kitchen light did not work and that he would be plugging in a lamp for us. This did not provide enough light at all, but no other alternatives were offered.
We specifically booked an apartment, so that we would be able to cook and use a living area. These rooms were not fit for purpose. The dining table had been leant against a wall, disguising the fact that it does not stand by itself, and one of the armchairs had been leant against another piece of furniture, hiding a broken leg (see photographs). This does not only make the area unusable, but also dangerous.
The overall condition of the apartment was incredibly poor. The banister on the stairs was not secure, there was no handle on the inside of the bathroom door (which does not close) and there were stains and tears all over the wallpaper. The room and entrance hall also smelled of cigarette smoke. We were unwilling to use the shower as there was hair in the plughole, hairs all over the base of the cubicle and nothing from which to hang the shower head. We were glad the light in the kitchen did not work, for fear of seeing how unclean it was.
The bed was at least acceptable (albeit with dirty marks and scratches on the walls), however we were unable to sleep due to the residents above our apartment running and shrieking until 4:30 am. As there are no onsite staff, there was nothing that we could do about this.
As we left the hotel, one car had been decorated with a toilet roll.

The apartment was NOT AS ADVERTISED, was UNFIT FOR PURPOSE and was UNSAFE and UNCLEAN.

PLEASE do not stay here.

Room Tip: Buy a tent, sleep in your car, find a cardboard box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Illustratedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

These guys are complete con artists. I booked and paid for a room on a short business trip. I did not receive the door codes despite frequent attempts. I couldn't access my room and had to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
5  Thank ilyamaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is the worst accommodation I have ever encountered. No warddrobes, no shaving point. The shower cubicle was inside the bedroom. The noise from the adjacent room's shower and toilet was unbearable. The bed was made but looed like it had been sat upon.

My sister-in-law also booked a room and this was disgusting. Bed unmade with bottles on it and the toilet had not been flushed.

A totally disgusting experience and to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

They posted terms and conditions clearly stating it it was non-smoking when it wasn't. There was nom air in the room and the windows didn't open much. But that is all liveable....what isn't is the dried on vomit down the toilet pan....only discovered when we got back after 10:30 with no option but to stay.

On complaining they absolutely don't care. They are not interested...won't offer a refund and aren't even open about where their company is based or to to complain to! For anyone else wanting to complain I have traced them to MJB Services Team and a Mr A Burlingham registered as director through companies house...although their manager denies there is any association? There is a press release that contradicts this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moulds27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.9 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Apartments

Address: 9 Unthank Road, Norwich NR2 2PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Beeches Apartments Hotel Norwich
Beeches Apartments Norwich
The Beeches Apartments Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing