We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and an all round value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Being a budget hotel I admittedly wasn't expecting much, but after spending 2 nights here recently I was pleasantly surprised to be proved wrong! Friendly and attentive staff, nice spacious bar and lobby area and a good value for money buffet breakfast (with hot options also included) would recommend this hotel,just a pity it's not a wee bit closer to the city Center, there is however a free bus service which I never made use of! Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura8760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that we excelled your expectations and that we proved a budget hotel doesn't necessarily reflect on it's price. I am pleased that our staff made you feel welcome and that you found them to be as helpful as possible. I am glad that you found the complimentary breakfast just as sufficient as you would if you were paying for it at a full service hotel.

Although our location isn't the best for walking into the city centre there are many public transportation that takes you straight into the city at a low cost and, should you choose to stay with us again, our staff will be more than happy to tell you about local bus services and taxi fares. As you mentioned, we do offer the free shuttle service to and from the train station and airport on arrival and departure and hope that you will make use of this service should you visit Norwich again.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express Norwich and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

arrived much later then expected (forgot about the time difference)

Very friendly personnell

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff on Tripadvisor. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again for staying at Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn to visit a friend in Norfolk and Norwich. This hotel which we've stayed at one visit before is clean and value for money.

Complimentary breakfast was a welcome suprise as it consisted of Scambled eggs, sausages, Hash brown, toast, pastries, coffee or tea, Orange juice etc.

Room was very comfortable and clean - The only downside was that Esporta is next door so you hear an ennoying thud thud of their music (they need to turn things down a bit!) However it stopped at ten but did start again the following morning at 8.00am If you ask for a front facing room you wouldn't get this!

We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PIJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our free breakfast. I do apologise for the problems you experienced with the Esporta health club next door, however, if you were to phone reception we would of politely asked them to turn the music down, guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and will try our absolute best to stop any disruptions for our guests.

I am glad to hear that you will deffinately stay with us again, and if Esporta disturb you during your next visit, just contact reception and we will do all we can to make you feel more comfortable.

Thank you for visiting Holiday Inn Express Norwich, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I meant to do this review late last year, must have forgot. But this place is one of the best kept secrets in the UK. We could only stay for one night, after arriving from Australia earlier in the day, as we had had to leave for Cromer the next morning, but wish we had longer. The free hotel mini bus pick up from Norwich is a huge bonus.The staff were fantastic, in fact, some of the "expensive" places, (which I often stay at on business), could learn a lot from the staff at this Holiday Inn. Communication is important and the office staff really know how to be courteous and assist. After a long flight and a 2 hour train trip from London, this hotel met all our requirements and was quiet, modern and clean. Breakfast was excellent with all you can eat really. This was our first time in Norwich and won't be our last, and next time we will stay there for a few days. The Asda across the other side car park is also a bonus, and we had no problem getting a parking spot at hotel with our hire car, which we picked up in Norwich. Just a brilliant hotel, value for money with incredible staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSlothMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you so much for your extremely positive comments on Tripadvisor! We try our absolute hardest to perfect our customer service and are so pleased when we get such positive feedback. To say that we could teach higher budget hotels a thing or 2 about customer service is such a compliment and shows us that our hardwork of perfecting customer service pays off. We are so pleased to hear that everything during your stay was more than satisfactory and are glad that you intend to stay with us again.

Thank you so much for staying with Holiday Inn Express Norwich, we look forward to welcoming you back, and hope your stay will not be so rushed next time so that you can enjoy what Norwich has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here several times over the past few years as a family with young children. Always a friendly welcome at reception. Hotel well placed for all our needs whilst visiting. Rooms generally quiet and a good nights sleep can be had. This type of hotel construction will however always suffer from echoing footfall and heavy doors closing. That said, we would continue to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your very positive review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you regularly stay with us and that you find the hotel sufficient to your requirements. I am glad that you find our rooms be be quiet and that you find yourself able to get a well needed rest. I apologise that you occasionally find that the doors slam and hear echoing from footfall, however I am glad that this doesn't discourage you from continually staying with us.

Thank you for your custom over recent years and we hope to continue to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have been using the Holiday Inn Express as it offers so much for so little. We have business meetings there, £1 for coffees in the bar area, very light and modern, staff are great and very helpful. Rooms are always very clean and tidy infact we have introduced clients here which says it all really. our Employees use it to fly off shore as they run a shuttle service so you get the Airport service at a fraction of the cost.

Food os great and the Gym is the best of all hotels in Norwich without a doubt.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great for Airport access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n16kya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you so much for your very positive comments on TripAdvisor. I am so glad, as a regular customer of ours, that you continue to notice our friendly staff. I am also very pleased to hear that you have referred your clients to us.

Thank you for your comments about our food and the Gym, we are lucky to be positioned next door to such an excellent Health Club.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Norwich. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Arived at the hotel, promplty booked in. We booked a smoking room so were not expecting too much. the room was clean and tidy but the carpet was filthy and pieces cut out and matched up. Coffee stains on the ceiling. We were woken at five each morning by the cleaners filling there trolleys, banging of doors, with no thought about sleeping customers. The cleaners came into your room at 8 in the morning even if you did have the do not distub sighn up, make sure you use the chain, not quite what i expected for a relaxing break away. The breakfast was good, plenty to choose from. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidstoneSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that the check in went smoothly for you and that you found the room to be clean and tidy. I would firstly like to apologise for the condition of the carpet, this is not our usual standard and I am suprised to hear you found it in this condition, I will be sure to have someone look at it immediately. I would also like to apologise for the coffee stains on the ceiling, again this is not our usual standard and must have been overlooked by our housekeeping staff.

I would also like to apologise for the disruptions at 5am and 8am in the morning, however I am unsure as to what caused this as our housekeeping staff do not get into the hotel until 9am, the reason for this is to stop disruption for our guests too early in the morning. I am very pleased you found the breakfast to be sufficient and that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff, customer service is one thing we as a hotel ensure is absolutely perfect and are glad when customers such as yourself notice this.

I thank you for your comments, good and bad, and I intend to personally see that these issues are rectified. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again and that you will consider chosing us again in the future.

Thank you for chosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.0 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Address: Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road | Drayton High Road, Norwich NR6 5DU, England (Formerly Norwich Sport Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £59 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Norwich is a new 78 bedroom hotel on the Norwich Sports Village Complex. This Modern Hotel hosts a neighbouring Esporta Health and Raquet Club, the Royal Norfolk Golf Club, and the only Ice Rink in Norfolk, Ice Experience. All our guests can take advantage of all the facilities at the Health and Raquet club Swimming, Gym etc, for a daily fee as well as enjoy a round of golf or take advantage of our special GOLF BREAK Package contact our reception for special rates.Also enjoy ice skating at the Ice Experience. Our guest can take advantage of our rail/airport Courtesy Shuttle bus which runs daily and can be booked at reception from 8am - 9.30pm. The Express by Holiday Inn is located 2.5 miles from Norwich City Centre and 1.9MI from Norwich International Airport just off the A140. The hotel has been designed to combine contemporary design with comfortable accommodation and value pricing, catering for both business and leisure travellers. Each of the 78 bedrooms has a desk area with high speed internet access, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite channels and an invigorating power shower. Our rates include Continental Breakfast which is served in the Great Room which is also a relaxing and informal place to unwind with a drink from our bar or to enjoy a Light Snack from our evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Hotel Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing