We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
105
168
140
49
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
168
140
49
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge asdaasda supermarketsports centreskating rinkair conbasic hotelleisure centrenorwich airportbreakfast was includedtwin roompleasant stayyogurtshort stayone night staytown centrefamily roomfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of July. There are a few areas that look a bit tired and could do with smartening up, (e.g the stairways).
The room was clean and comfortable, and I was impressed with the firmness rating lables on the pillows. We had a bit of a problem working out the air con, meaning the room was a bit stuffy and warm at first, but when we got it sorted, it ws fine. I was a bit disappointed with the bathroom in the room. It was very clean and tidy, but the grab-handle in the shower and the little pedal bin were rusty.
The self-service area for beakfast is small, and when we were there, was busy and crowded. Breakfast was good, but as other people have mentioned, there is only 1 slow toaster.
As other people have also mentioned, wi-fi access is not free at this hotel, and is only available in the lobby. My tip is if you buy a 1 hour access to the wi-fi, make sure you use it, as the access is 1 hour from when you activate the code, not one hour as and when you need it, (this is not made clear on the price notice by the reception desk).
The parking seems to be shared with quite a few other establishements, so it is not always possible to get a space right outside the door, but there is pleanty of parking.
Overall, it wasn't a bad stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorseyGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Norwich. I am glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and that you appreciated the choice of firm or soft pillows. I am sorry to hear that you found problems with the air con and glad that you were able to resolve this. I apologise that you found the hand rail and pedal bin to be rusty, I have passed this information onto maintenance and they will check all rooms for signs of rust and replace as necessary.
I am also very sorry to hear breakfast was very crowded, unfortunately we cannot gurantee how many people will come down at one time however, we currently have plans to extend the breakfast area, we are also looking to replace our toaster as this has been with us for a few years. Unfortunately, we are currently in a contract with our internet provider and therefore they charge us everytime the internet is used, we therefore have to charge for it, although, once this contract is finished, we will be looking into offering WiFi to our guests for free.

Thanks again for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Norwich and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Service of all staff was top class. Friendly reception, courtesy call to the room after check in was a nice touch. Hotel is clearly in a very good state of repair, recently painted. Room very neat and bed comfortable. Bathroom had v good shower. Breakfast adequate. All in all superb hotel, and all this with only a 2 star rating, it puts most 3 and some 4 star places to shame. A bit far from the town centre, but can get there by car in 5 mins! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: top floor would be best to minimise echo footfall noise (which is inevitable with concrete buildings and not really that bad)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S_KWoking_SURREY_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwichexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Sir / Madam

Many thanks for your review about a recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Siu Mok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This Holiday Inn Express is located a couple of miles to the west of Norwich, adjacent to the ring road, and shares its site with an ice rink, a health club and an Asda supermarket which is open 24 hours per day except Sundays. The hotel is well maintained, with only minor evidence of wear and tear. The reception and breakfast areas are bright, clean, spacious, tastefully decorated and relaxing. Rooms are big and, although the bathrooms are compact (no bath, only a shower), they are well lit so you can see what you are doing whilst shaving (or applying lipstick). Beds are comfortable. Ironing boards are available at reception. I cannot fault the staff. They are polite and attentive without being servile, and a small problem I had was resolved without fuss. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide range of cereals, bread, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, and hot dishes. Evening meals are available in the breakfast area. The menu is limited but the food is freshly prepared and the quality is good. Parking can be a problem as the hotel’s spaces are often taken by people visiting the health club, so you may have to park some distance away at the ice rink, which is a significant disadvantage for people with limited mobility.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oxonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwichexhi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Thank you so much for sharing the details of your recent stay with us. It is great to hear such positive feedback. We will ensure that all our Teams get to see your comments and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Kind regards

Siu Mok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Being a budget hotel I admittedly wasn't expecting much, but after spending 2 nights here recently I was pleasantly surprised to be proved wrong! Friendly and attentive staff, nice spacious bar and lobby area and a good value for money buffet breakfast (with hot options also included) would recommend this hotel,just a pity it's not a wee bit closer to the city Center, there is however a free bus service which I never made use of! Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laura8760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that we excelled your expectations and that we proved a budget hotel doesn't necessarily reflect on it's price. I am pleased that our staff made you feel welcome and that you found them to be as helpful as possible. I am glad that you found the complimentary breakfast just as sufficient as you would if you were paying for it at a full service hotel.

Although our location isn't the best for walking into the city centre there are many public transportation that takes you straight into the city at a low cost and, should you choose to stay with us again, our staff will be more than happy to tell you about local bus services and taxi fares. As you mentioned, we do offer the free shuttle service to and from the train station and airport on arrival and departure and hope that you will make use of this service should you visit Norwich again.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express Norwich and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

arrived much later then expected (forgot about the time difference)

Very friendly personnell

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomlefevre, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff on Tripadvisor. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again for staying at Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews