We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Stoppover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family Stoppover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed for one night to visit family in the nearby area, so the location was good for us. This hotel is a super conversion of the old "Sports Village Hotel" which used to be a bit cheap and cheerful. It now displays the usual Hilton style, very well laid out with nice comfortable rooms and a clean stylish reception and lounge/dining area. The buffet breakfast selection was extensive with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, bread, cakes and some cooked items. If not exactly a "full English" it is certainly delivers a full stomach to travel on. There is plenty of parking on site but there is competition with people using the fitness club and overspill from Asda customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clutzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am extremely pleased the staff were polite and helpful during your stay and will pass your comments on to the team. I am also pleased you enjoyed your evening meal with us. We regularly update our menus to ensure we offer a variety of products for our guests to enjoy.

We understand our location may not be suitable for every guest in terms of visiting tourist attractions; however, we are lucky to be situated on the Norwich Ring Road which provides very easy access into Norwich City Centre and all surrounding areas. This can easily be accessed by car or local bus stop (3 minute walk from hotel) which runs regularly.

I apologise we were not able to offer you free Wi-Fi in our hotel. Due to a contract with our internet supplier, we cannot currently offer this. We are due to offer a 30 minute free Wi-Fi pass to all guests at the end of the year when we upgrade our current contract.

Once again, thank you for all your comments and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    150
    125
    37
    32
See reviews for
93
134
27
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We visited Norwich during bank holiday weekend and stayed at this hotel . Our experience was good starting from the check in and finishing with checkout. The staff was polite but seemed to be very busy although hotel looked rather quiet. Our room was nice and tidy and had enough space for our party of 3. We also were too lazy and had chosen to eat at our hotel-so we enjoyed our tasty dinner. Our breakfast on the following day was too big for our stomachs. There are 2 disadvantages of this hotel. First one it is situated far away from touristic attractions. Second there is no free of charge Internet available. But you can enjoy shopping at Asda or go to gym and even have a swim next door .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonofmyparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and found check-in/check-out a smooth procedure. I am also pleased you enjoyed your evening meal and Express Start breakfast. I will pass your positive comments on to our food and beverage champion.

I apologise you were not able to use the free internet available on our complimentary Guest PC. We experienced a technical issue with the internet on this computer which could only be resolved with the call out of an engineer.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for one night, while visiting a relative in Norwich. We had a late arrival, about 10.30pm reception was very welcoming and our room on the first floor was clean and warm.
The bed was a bit hard for me but other than that it was ideal for what we needed. Breakfast was a choice of cooked, cereals or continental, coffee tea and juices and was included in the price (£59 a night for 2). Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candghicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am pleased you were greeted pleasantly upon your late arrival. We take great pride in our staff customer service quality and I will pass your comments on to the relevant staff member. I am also pleased you were satisfied with the rate you paid and enjoyed our complimentary Express Start Breakfast.

I apologies you felt the bed was slightly too firm for your personal preference. It is always difficult meeting the perfect mattress comfort for each guest, however I can assure that our 'Hypnos' mattresses are there to meet the Holiday Inn Express brand standards. I will pass your comments to the IHG directly.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great staff, neat tidy room, great breakfast and although in a rather tatty suburb opposite a large supermarket this is a great hotel.smoking rooms too which is a great bonus. Cannot rate the staff too highly....don't you think they always make or break a stay...this bunch made it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for such positive comments regarding our staff at Holiday Inn Express Norwich. I will pass these onto the team for you who I'm sure will be pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I am also glad you enjoyed your smoking room at our hotel. We are fortunate to still offer a limited number of these rooms to our guests upon request.

Once again, thank you. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here as a last minute over easter, on arrival greeted by very friendly staff, nothing seemed too much trouble, welcoming reception area, room was very comfortable, more than adequate breakfast, got great deal on room rate as used the government rate as work for council so all in all a very pleasant stay, would def recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am glad that you found our hotel staff to be friendly and provided you with excellent customer service. I will ensure your positive comment will be passed on our team.
It was great to hear you were pleased with your room, breakfast service and that you felt it was value for money.

Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Express Norwich, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have just spent a easter break at the Holiday inn express Norwich. I had two uncomfortable nights as the room as freezing cold. After complaining to reception we were given a mini heater, but the heating in the room still wasnt warm. The reception staff brought another heater up but rather than fix the problem, a sticky plaster was put to try and rectify the situation. I believe the heating in the room is either restricted or set to summer setting either way the problem wasnt resolved for our stay (other people on the second floor complained as welll as our party). The breakfast selection doesnt get replaced quickly enough and felt it was under staffed. The beds were so cheap and nasty. I would never go back to this hotel and brings the reputation of the brand down. The only plus side was that this hotel doesnt seem to attract drunk people waking everyone up.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlaCiesielska, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am very sorry that you came across several problems during your stay with us. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience. Our hotel wants all guests to have the best stay possible and I know how this issue would affect your stay with us.

Please accept my apology for AC being out of order during your stay. Unfortunately this problem could not be resolved straight away by our hotel team. The reception staff did they best by providing blanket and electric heaters. Thank you very much for your understanding.

I am sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your comment has been communicated back to our Food and Beverage Champion in order to improve our breakfast service.

Once again please accept my apology for all inconvenience caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Sunderland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We recently stayed for two nights whilst Visiting our Daughter, nice welcoming entrance and lobby.
Staff friendly, bar area, rooms clean and modern, nice bathroom.
Only faults - no room service, not much choice for cooked breakfast, and rooms could do with more tea and coffee supplies. My husband and myself tried the cheesy garlic bread and chilli con carne which were quite tasty and reasonably priced.
All in all a pleasant stay with a short drive from the centre of norwich.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vix81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UlaCiesielska, at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am glad that you found our hotel staff to be friendly and provided you with high standard customer service. I am also please that you like the hotel's design, location and cleanliness.

I’m sorry to hear that you found the hot breakfast choice to be poor. Unfortunately brand standard regulation doesn't allow us to provide more options as well as we are not allowed to have room service.

Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Express Norwich, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Address: Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road | Drayton High Road, Norwich NR6 5DU, England (Formerly Norwich Sport Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Norwich is a new 78 bedroom hotel on the Norwich Sports Village Complex. This Modern Hotel hosts a neighbouring Esporta Health and Raquet Club, the Royal Norfolk Golf Club, and the only Ice Rink in Norfolk, Ice Experience. All our guests can take advantage of all the facilities at the Health and Raquet club Swimming, Gym etc, for a daily fee as well as enjoy a round of golf or take advantage of our special GOLF BREAK Package contact our reception for special rates.Also enjoy ice skating at the Ice Experience. Our guest can take advantage of our rail/airport Courtesy Shuttle bus which runs daily and can be booked at reception from 8am - 9.30pm. The Express by Holiday Inn is located 2.5 miles from Norwich City Centre and 1.9MI from Norwich International Airport just off the A140. The hotel has been designed to combine contemporary design with comfortable accommodation and value pricing, catering for both business and leisure travellers. Each of the 78 bedrooms has a desk area with high speed internet access, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite channels and an invigorating power shower. Our rates include Continental Breakfast which is served in the Great Room which is also a relaxing and informal place to unwind with a drink from our bar or to enjoy a Light Snack from our evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Hotel Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing