We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, unpretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Flitwick
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, unpretentious”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed three nights. The location was convenient if rather busy with an Asda and a leisure centre on the same site. The room we had was large, well furnished and had efficient air conditioning we we needed as it was a hot weekend. We used the hotel as a base for exploring Norwich and the surrounding area. Breakfast was substantial (although no bacon!). We ate in the restaurant which had a limited menu but was good value for money. All the staff were friendly and helpful. My only criticism is that, on some web sites, it is easy to get the impression that the hotel has a pool. It does not. The pool belongs to the leisure centre and you have to pay to use it.
That said, the hotel itself was really excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to share this on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to hear we exceeded your expectations and you liked our rooms and restaurant facilities. I will ensure these comments are communicated back to the relevant departments.

Although we do not serve bacon, we do offer a hot selection of Sausages, Scrambled Eggs and Baked Beans along with Continental which I hope you enjoyed. We continuously look for new ways to improve our Free Express Start Breakfast and many guests, including yourselves, are pleasantly surprised with the variety of products we offer at our hotel.

Thank you once again. I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Norwich.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    153
    133
    43
    38
See reviews for
97
143
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed for two nights, room not very clean and parking bit difficult. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast is fine. tv and internet need to be iimproved. I think the only highlight of this place is good staff. I didn't eat in the evening here and went to mcD in asda nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veeruveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your views and opinions online regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased you found our hotel to a reasonable standard and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff quality. I will pass your comments on regarding guest room cleanliness back to our Head Housekeeper for investigation. One of our top priorities is hotel cleanliness and it comes as surprise to hear this was an issue during your stay so I sincerely apologise for this.

I am pleased to inform you that we are expecting upgraded TV's, TV stations and Internet in October 2013 so I do hope we can welcome you back for you to enjoy these new features.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Although this hotel is listed as Drayton High Road access is via Boundary Road and then follow the signs for ASDA, I rely on in car sat nav so I ended up using brain cells in the end.
The hoel is visually not very attractive wedged between the sporting village and the ASDA supermarket, this might not detract most visitors from enjoying the hotel.
Reception is large and welcoming and unlike most Holiday Inn Express hotels this one offers evening meals. Staff were helpful and friendly.
The room I stayed in was looking a little worn but what spoiled my enjoyment was the small flat screen TV and the lack of stations especially as the Wimbledon tennis was on and the TV is a fair distance to the bed. The soft pillows need replacing they were well flat.
Maybe I am being a little pickey but this is why I rated the hotel as 'average'

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Trunkers,

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback to help us review the areas we can improve on.

I apologise for the issues you have raised regarding difficulty locating the hotel and worn look of your bedroom. I will ensure these comments are passed on to the correct departments for review.

I also apologise you disliked our televisions and in-house channel selection. Regrettably, this is currently an unavoidable situation at present but I can confirm we are expecting an updated package for our channels and LCD TV's later this year along with Wi-Fi throughout our hotel. I hope you will be back with us in the near future to enjoy these services.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I apologise we didn't exceed your expectations this time round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a modern hotel operated under the Hiex franchise by an independent firm. Its rooms and public areas are rather larger and more stylish than your average Hiex. It is situated just outside the Norwich city boundary, sandwiched between a huge Asda and the futuristic domes of a sporting village, the latter now looking rather uncared for.
We had a room on the top floor, facing the rear (quiet and overlooking a belt of trees). Very comfortable bed and everything you would expect of a modern hotel. Nos 28 and 29 bus, from the stops by the entrance road, take you into Castle Meadow in Norwich City centre every 20 minutes, so hotel is very convenient for the sights, whilst avoiding the noise and bustle of a city centre location.
Windows do not open but air conditioning was (for once in a British hotel!) effective.
Management have responded to other reviews on the lack of decent free Internet - this would be an impediment to business travellers; hope their new contract is better.
Good serve yourself buffet breakfast.
We were on a 2 night B&B and free dinner on night of arrival break with Superbreak, but dinner really limited to what they can microwave or put in a fryer; really nothing special.
But recommended for a good value stay in an interesting city.

Room Tip: Back of hotel much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome all feedback and I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments to help us maintain our high standards.

I am pleased our location was of a suitable proximity for your travel plans and hope our reception team was able to assist with any queries you may have had. I am also pleased you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast. I will however pass your comments about evening meals on to our Food & Beverage Champion for review.

Thank you once again for your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,655 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I used some loyalty points to book a room on-line for one night for my wife and myself. The hotel is conveniently located at a junction on the Norwich ring road. On the same site is an Asda supermarket, MacDonalds and Virgin Gym.

The hotel is modern and run as a franchise. There is a car park but it is not owned by the hotel so car drivers must enter their car registration in a database at the hotel to ensure he or she is not penalised for parking.

There was friendly and efficent reception with booking instantly recognised. By coincidence, I guess, we got the largest room in the hotel - 209. It is primarily for disabled use although we are neither.

The room has the standard HolEx fixtures with double bed, hanging wardrobe, desk settee, television. Pillows came in twos marked 'firm' and 'soft'. As the room was so large, the furniture looked a bit lost. There was tea and coffee making equipment, of course.

The bathroom was a wet room layout to enable a disabled person to move around easily. We found it handy to able to shower together without getting in each other's way.

Buffet breakfast is included in the room price. It is taken in a pleasant open area near reception with a menu including fruit, cereals, yoghurts and a few cooked items like scrambled egg and sausages. Plenty of tea and coffee, of course.

The hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre on a straight road. Buses also available.

There was nothing to pay when we left as I had used loyalty points. There was no hotel bill for me either. "Holiday Inn have not paid us yet," explained the hotel clerk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look on the car park; rooms at the back look on trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Norwich.

I am pleased we met your expectations and thank you for loyalty as a Priority Club Member.

I apologise the furniture looked lost in your room. Unfortunately, we do have to meet brand standards with the furniture and keep our accessible rooms clear of too much obstruction. I do hope you enjoyed the extra space and I'm pleased the wet room was suitable for your requirements.

Thank you once again for your booking and for the taking the time to leave a positive review.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

On arriving my reservation did not seem to have been checked as the hotel had been paid for 2 nights non smoking room I had to query this and they had to change rooms because they had booked me into a smoking room. the card did not work so I had to return to reception. The room was clean and tidy although the selection of tv channels with some channels frozen, and channels were limited.
Good lighting in the hotel with a good selection of breakfast items

Room Tip: Not easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you found the hotel lighting efficient and breakfast of a good selection and pleased the staff were able to accommodate you into the correct room type following the error.

I do apologise the key card did not work first time and will ensure maintenance investigate the key card reader in your room. I will also investigate why your TV channels were frozen. I hope the staff were able to fix this problem quickly when it was reported.

I am pleased to make you aware we can expect a wider selection of TV channels and TV sets in the guest bedrooms by the end of this year to help us improve our guest satisfaction.

I apologise once again for your problems during your stay but thank you for your comments as it is only with our guests feedback we can ensure we meet our high standards.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Try to use holiday inn express if there is on available, this one is below standard. The staff were gr8, but the hotel was a bit shabby, my room was damp, and there was a constant musky smell in my room. Had to leave the hotel due to a fire alarm, which was ok because it was a safety issue. But two days later I was woken up at 2am by another alarm from the sports centre below my room. The breakfast was ok, and again the staff were very helpful. It just wasn't as good a standard as other holiday inn expresses I've stayed in.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flipface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenSayer, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Norwich, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased our staffs were friendly and helpful during your stay and will ensure the team are made aware of your positive comment.

However, I would like to sincerely apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay. I have ensured maintenance and housekeeping investigate the damp smell tired look in your bedroom. We rarely receive negative reviews regarding hotel cleanliness/maintenance and it is a great shame you encountered these problems during your stay with us.

I would also like to apologise for your disturbance with the hotel and Virgin Active alarm. As I'm sure you understand, these situations are out of the hotels control until the situation has been investigated. It is very unfortunate that you happened to experience two separate occasions of noise disturbances and again I apologise for this.

If you would like to email me on: reservations@hiexnorwich.co.uk and I will be happy to discuss this further with you.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Sayer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.2 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Address: Norwich Sports Village Drayton High Road | Drayton High Road, Norwich NR6 5DU, England (Formerly Norwich Sport Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Norwich is a new 78 bedroom hotel on the Norwich Sports Village Complex. This Modern Hotel hosts a neighbouring Esporta Health and Raquet Club, the Royal Norfolk Golf Club, and the only Ice Rink in Norfolk, Ice Experience. All our guests can take advantage of all the facilities at the Health and Raquet club Swimming, Gym etc, for a daily fee as well as enjoy a round of golf or take advantage of our special GOLF BREAK Package contact our reception for special rates.Also enjoy ice skating at the Ice Experience. Our guest can take advantage of our rail/airport Courtesy Shuttle bus which runs daily and can be booked at reception from 8am - 9.30pm. The Express by Holiday Inn is located 2.5 miles from Norwich City Centre and 1.9MI from Norwich International Airport just off the A140. The hotel has been designed to combine contemporary design with comfortable accommodation and value pricing, catering for both business and leisure travellers. Each of the 78 bedrooms has a desk area with high speed internet access, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV with satellite channels and an invigorating power shower. Our rates include Continental Breakfast which is served in the Great Room which is also a relaxing and informal place to unwind with a drink from our bar or to enjoy a Light Snack from our evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Hotel Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing