We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Norwich - Full of Character - Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Kennington, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Norwich - Full of Character - Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed at the St Giles Hotel in Norwich for the best part of 2 years almost on a weekly basis, so in that sense my review of this hotel is not a 'snap shot' of good or bad which people often leave on Trip Advisor reviews. I have to say that this was a fabulous hotel, the rooms were always impeccably clean, the staff were always courteous and professional and the food was always up to scratch bar on one occasion in 2 years! I stayed in all the rooms at some point and they were all of a good standard, I always avoided the 2 ground floor rooms at the front owing to the evening traffic noise in summer when the windows needed to be open. The bar area was always relaxing and friendly and the restaurant served good food routinely. Got to know many of the hotel staff during my stay and they were always good fun to chat with and always solved any little problems that arose. Had many a pleasant evenings with work colleagues when we didn't want to go out, all in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is also very convenient for the town centre and Chapelfields is just a 5 minute walk. I haven't been to Norwich for a while now but hope to go back again soon and will definitely be staying at the St Giles

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amerkhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    175
    52
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
333
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Having booked our room before reading the disappointing reviews, we were filled with trepidation about our stay at this hotel. We expected the worst but we got the best. All the staff were polite, attentive and keen to help. We didn't have an evening meal but all the breakfasts we had were beautifully cooked and served. Our room was spacious, clean.and well furnished. The beds were really comfortable, the only thing to spoil our sleep was occasional noise from outside (nothing to do with the hotel). The hotel location was ideal as we were right in the centre of the city and could easily walk everywhere we wanted to. Our holiday was really important to us as it was a few rare days of respite for us. I felt I had to write this, our first review in order to give a positvie feedback.of our excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandTDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great yarmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We had aspired to stay here for years and so after having booked months ahead and asked for a 'nice' room and studied the king rooms on line we were absolutely gutted when we saw the roomwe were allocated- I still can't find it on their website. It was small with black scuff marks on the walls and a grubby green carpet. After asking for another room we were told there were no more but were shown one that the occupier had not checked in yet. At the time we took it as we thought it was in a better position but it was still not up to 4*. We were then offered the honeymoon suite for our last 2 nights and took it at aslightly reduced rate. Ok it was huge but the bed coverlet had not been changed for quite a while as it was very stained!! On checking out we said our findings to the receptionist and the manager who was there and heard everything said absolutely nothing which just conffirmed our impression that there was no attention to detail and she didn't care less. It was the biggest let down ever and I have never experienced this before in any other hotel we have stayed in.he website did not reflect our room at all. We did enjoy all the meals we had there and so it was such a shame about the accommodation.

Room Tip: Good food shame about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jncfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
I do hope by now you have recieved the letter in response to the feedback you left with the hotel on checkout - as mentioned in my response, as a boutique-style hotel, all our rooms have unique features and decor, incorporating features of a renovated Georgian-house, and a grade ll listed building which differentiate all our accomodation & maintain the character of the building; our website is designed specifically to portray this vast array of features & overall impression of the accomodation.
I was infact the Manager on Duty upon check-out also, you may or may not recall I was infact on the telephone and although I was aware you were speaking with our Receptionist, I was already commited to a telephone conversation & was unaware of the content of the conversation, so regretfully was unable to discuss your comments on checkout, my apologies for this, please be assured it certainly was not due to a lack of interest in your feedback, I simply was unavailable to discuss at that moment.
I am confident in the services we offer here at St Giles and was disapointed to hear your feedback. Please rest assured all comments & feedback are valued & acted upon to ensure our high standards are maintained and implemented in all aspects of our Hotel. Having recieved my letter, please contact me if you wish to discuss this further
Kinds Regards,
Jenna Richards
Assistant Manager
St Giles House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Contrary to some of the recent reviews of this hotel, I'm pleased to say we were completely satisfied with our stay. The staff were faultlessly friendly, the room comfortable and breakfast top notch; they were even happy to provide gluten-free bread for one of us. Quite pricey, but highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djjpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I was staying at the hotel as part of a wedding party who had exclusive use of the hotel for one night. Overall we had a fantastic stay and the wedding itself was wonderful.

The rooms were high quality although some quite small, however the suites were quite spectacular, particularly room 16 with it's impressive bathroom and grand design. The events staff, as well as the bar staff, were helpful and hardworking and made the day go without issue. The spa staff deserve particular mention as being attentive, helpful and trying their hardest to ensure we had a fabulous time.

The only downside to the event and the stay was the owner, a brusque woman who appeared to have no concept of professionalism or customer service. As chief bridesmaid and sister of the bride I was well aware of the expectations of the bride and groom and was tasked by them to help ensure things went smoothly. I was aware that our elderly grandparents (89 and 93) had arrived after a long journey and were tired and stressed and so it had been confirmed with housekeeping that their room was ready for early check-in. I tried to work with the owner when they arrived to get them checked-in but was rudely informed that their room wasn't ready. After some debate it was concluded that the room was in fact ready but that the hotel staff had yet to place literature in the rooms provided by the bride. As I knew this literature was primarily about uploading digital photograpy to a website (of no consequence to my grandparents) I requested that an exception be made and they be given their key. The request was point blank refused and they were left to wait in the lobby. Unacceptable, unprofessional and sole but sufficient reason to never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyjanehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouseHotel, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at St Giles House. I am disapointed to hear that this particular situation arose, however very pleased to hear that the Wedding Day was a success. Unfortunatly, the time at which the request for early-check-in was made, was infact before our hotel check-out time (11am). As the Wedding Coordinator, I was aware that guests would be arriving early and had agreed these rooms to be priority for the Housekeeping team, however I was not informed of how early this check-in would be. Although Housekeeping had the room ready, the Bride and Groom had arranged for presents, flowers, details for their Wedding Day as well as the Photo information which still had to placed in rooms. I believe the situation was arranged that the guests recieved Coffee/Tea in the Lounge whilst I arranged for these items to be placed into their room before checking them in soon after. We were more than happy for the guests to check-in early but unfortunatly, Wedding Days require alot of organising and for so much attention to detail in planning personalised information for rooms & ensuring guests are aware when they check-in of where they are meeting for the Ceremony & details of the day, I must ensure these are placed in rooms, I too was attempting to ensure all requests from the Bride & Groom were granted and ensure the Wedding ran as smoothly as possible, so I apologise if this clashed with this particular situation. I think the day was a great success & glad to hear you & other guests agreed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I booked this hotel for my MD. the website made the Hotel look very regal and luxurious.
The only room available was a suite at the charge of £190!! We were given a discount of £150 oas we booked on the day by phone, but still it appears that was totally over priced.
He was greeted by a half dressed dishevelled looking man at the grotty reception area, who showed him along the creaky corridor to his room that he had trouble opening. It was freezing cold inside and dank and damp and felt like nobody had been in there for years!
The only way he would recommend this Hotel would be to a hotel developer as the location is great and he is sure someone could make it into a great hotel with a lot of work.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chelsea1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were apprehensive before our night in St Giles House Hotel as we'd booked up before reading several bad reviews on Trip Advisor, but we needn't have worried.

On the car up we were joking about the receptionist we'd read about, but the lady who checked us in was polite, friendly and efficient, transferring our booking to a more suitable room without any problems, and answering our questions about the impressive collection of art in the hotel lobby.

Our room was great with a minibar, comfortable bed and flatscreen TV. The huge bathroom with roll-top bath and corner shower was only let down by an unnecessary sign asking customers not to steal the toiletries - it cheapened what was one of the nicest hotel bathrooms I've used.

The location is fantastic, right in the city centre and yards away from the excellent lanes shopping area.

Our breakfast was made with excellent local produce and a great selection of freshly squeezed juices. The spa also got good reviews as my wife and her friend loved their pregnancy massages.

Luxury hotels can easily be ruined by poor service but on this occasion we had nothing but good experiences at St Giles House. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megarobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing