We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Was dubious about staying given the mixed reviews, I was not disappointed, the reception staff were wonderful, very accommodating and definitely a good first impression. The room was lovely, well decorated, all the facilities you could possibily need, tea/coffee/biscuits etc and a very comfortable bed. The shower room was a slight let down, as per previous guests comments, such a large room and no bath, which is a real shame. The shower room could also do with an upgrade, not sure about the black floor and corner shower, however it certainly wasn't a show stopper. All in all a very nice stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidetravel210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Many thanks for your postive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us here at St Giles. We do offer King rooms with Baths as well as the larger ensuite Shower facilities, this preference can be stated at time of booking to ensure your preferences are met. It is great to recieve your comments and I am pleased to see our staff added to your experiences with us. I do hope we welcome you back again,

Kind Regards
Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    176
    52
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
333
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

St Giles House has always been a fabulous venue & the current owners now run it as it should be run & have made sensible improvements to the layout. It stands out for being privtately run, not just another same again corporate chain. The rooms are all unique. The food is excellent & the staff very friendly. We love it!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the modern wing are away from the road but St Giles is hardly a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countryboy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Very pleased to see you recent comment on Tripadvisor and pleased that the ammendments and changes we are making here are receiving a positive response. We are very proud of what we offer here at St Giles House and its lovely to see customers positive reactions to our unique hotel and the service we offer. I look forwad to seeing you back here!
Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have stayed at St, Giles house numerous times for a rest from the children. The staff are lovely and cant do enough for you.
The hotel itself is spacious, rooms vary from standard to deluxe suites, we have always had a king suite and its lovely.
But on this particular trip and the last one we noticed a few things that needed attention.
Its an old building lovingly restored but its needs constant attention which we feel its not getting.
Our suite time before was lovely, animal prints lounge area but the room smelt of dirty toilets, no matter what the man did it could not be shifted, its the old pipework in the original part of the building, there was no way we could stay there and was told they were full, but we did manage to get a small room on the ground floor.
The next time we had suite 16, amaxing room, roll top bath rain shower, but paint is peeling off the walls, the floor is uneven in the bathroom which makes mme think hygeinically the floor is not sealed as its wooden. The shower dripped and leaked all over the floor, it just did not feel as clean and bright as it should do.
Breakfast is fantastic, small continental and a lovely fresh hot breakfast cooked to order.
We had a lovely time, its city centre but now I feel in need of some tlc.

Room Tip: go for a suite and not ground floor as noisey onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dummydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel is a bit odd- I've stayed in lots of boutique hotels some good, some not so good, but with this place it's like they started off making it boutique then somewhere along the way ran out of cash. My King Room had a comfortable bed but the furniture was right out of 1980's MFI. The decor was generally a bit chintzy and the TV was tiny which may not be an issue if you're staying for a romantic weekend but is when you've driven 200 miles, had 3 meetings, and want to chill out in your room. The bathroom was very elaborate in a kind of neo victorian sort of way but looked a bit tired and shower was coming away from the wall. The food in contrast was very good indeed and reasonably priced. The service was mixed, good in the restaurant but the receptionist who showed me to my room had clearly forgotten most of any customer care training she has ever received, including how to smile. I stayed on a special deal for £100 B& B and for that it was ok value but if i had paid any more I would have felt short changed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussysod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
I wish to thankyou for your recent feedback on your stay with us, it seems a somewhat mixed review in terms of likes and dislikes. The concept of a Boutique hotel is to be somewhat quirky and individual, personalised tastes come down to the individual but I guess what our hotel does is combine the original features of the listed Geogian building, complemented by a modern approach on hotel accomodation. All of our 24 bedrooms display individual decor and differentiated style throughout. For example those with marble designed bathrooms incorporate the original art-deco style of the hotel, unfortunatly it seems this style was not to your liking. I am pleased to hear such postives regarding the food & restaurant staff. We aim to maintain high levels both in our food & customer service levels & I am disapointed to hear that certain aspects of this failed in your experience. I have ensured all staff are aware of your feedback across all departments, many thanks for your comments, they are helpful, not only to establish customers viewpoints, but also to ensure our high standards are maintained. Please dont hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further
Kind Regards
Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

A lovely hotel in a prime position in Norwich centre, however it is in a very noisy street which makes all the front rooms extremely unpleasant. The hotel also has very noisy neighbours in the YMCA immediately opposite on the narrow road. The weather was very hot but we could not open the windows because of the noise and on the hottest night there was a party which went on right through the night into the morning. Sadly there was no air conditioning so the room was almost unbearable. In fact the noise from traffic and neighbours went on right through each night. The dining room has very loud acoustics which made conversation difficult and the scraping of the chairs on the tiled floor made this even more difficult. The food was good but spoilt by the atmosphere.
The position of the hotel is out of control of the management but changes need to be made - perhaps not using the front rooms?

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Many thanks for your recent review, Im disapointed to hear your feedback regarding your stay. Owning a Boutique, grade ll listed building holds various restrictions in terms of building/structual work & restricts for example the replacement of original windows. Having ensured all rooms are double-glazed & secondary glazing installed there are limitations on further work to the frontage of the building. Also as a boutique-style hotel, all our rooms have unique features and decor, incorporating original features of the Georgian-house, and a grade ll listed building which maintains the character of the building. With regard to the noise, as a city-centre location we have measures in place to monitor noise levels & outside activity, such as 24 hour Reception & Night Porter, unfortunatly with such a location comes the usual city-centre noise. Dining as part of a group of 40 guests will always create more background noise than smaller parties in our Restaurant, measures were taken to ensure those guests which didnt want to eat within the tour group, seperate tables were available to dine in smaller groups where requested/preferred. Many Thanks for your feedback, they are comments we will look further into to ensure such distrubances are avoided.
Kind regards,
Jenna Richards
St Giles House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My wife and I held our daughters (and now son-in-laws) wedding reception here. Right from the start the arrangements were made very easy for us. The contact between the hotel and us was very good ensuring no details were over looked. The reception was only small but that didn't matter to the hotel, we were still treated in a professional and friendly way.

The hotel is very comfortable, clean and well maintained. All the staff are very friendly, polite and will do anything you ask of them. We arranged to go to the venue in the morning to set a few personal touches out and were meet by the events organiser, Jenna, who had made the arrangements with us. Jenna ensured we had everything we needed. We checked in the couple and their case taken to the room.

The meal was excellent, well cooked very well presented and hot, unlike some we have eaten in. We had four courses but we were not rushed. The room was ours for the night and the waiting staff took their queue from us, making it a really nice experience. When it came to the speeches they ensured we had all we required and then left us in privacy.

After the meal we retired to the lounge for coffee where sofas and tables had been reserved for us ensuring we stayed together.

After the reception the happy couple went to their room and the next day they only had praise for the room and the fantastic breakfast. They were so full they could not eat the pre arrange lunch but that didn’t matter. The hotel moved the lunch to other suitable day for them.

The hotel is friendly for those with disabilities with lifts and ramps around, I know I had an ankle injury and therefore used then.

All in all this is a very good venue for a wedding and we will certainly eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muckypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
I am very pleased to hear you & your guests enjoyed such a special occasion with us here at St Giles House. I have passed on your thanks to all staff invovled and must thank you for such positive feedback. It is great to hear that the newlyweds left pleased with their stay & so full they had to make another visit!! Im glad I could help in the planning of your Daughters big day & that the day ran smoothly & was enjoyed & rembered by all.
It would be good to see you back here in the not too distant future,
Kind Regards, Jenna Richards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I had our wedding reception at St Giles House Hotel on the 4th of June this year, and it was beyond all our expectations. From the moment we arrived Jenna and her staff saw to it that our every need was catered for..
The food was wonderful and the service was brilliant, we were totally unaware of the staff in the background bringing food and clearing away afterwards, no request was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were fantastic....obviously we had the honeymoon suite, but everyone else commented that the rooms were lovely.
The day went very smoothly, and the next morning at breakfast, the choices were very good as was the service, and all my guests ( many travelling from Sussex, Kent etc) were very happy with the experience.
St Giles House is a wonderful building, in an ideal location and it certainly worked for us !!

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GromitNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
I am so very pleased to hear your Wedding celebrations were a success at St Giles House for both yourselves & the many family & friends who stayed with us & were here to celebrate with you. It was a great day & it was a pleasure to work with you in planning it. The time & effort you both put in yourselves into the planning must be noted, as your personal touches were great & really made the day memorable, but I am pleased that efforts of the team here made the day run smoothly. Wishing you the very best in your married life together & congratulations again,

From Jenna & staff at St Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing